Gambhir To Captain Young India Side In West Indies

Gambhir To Captain Young India Side In West Indies
Gambhir To Captain Young India Side In West Indies
©REUTERS/Adnan Abidi (INDIA - Tags: SPORT CRICKET) Picture Supplied by Action Images

Gautam Gambhir is to captain India for the limited overs leg of their tour of the West Indies as Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Sachin Tendulkar and Zaheer Khan are rested.

Gambhir will lead a young side that also includes Subramaniam Badrinath, Wriddhaman Saha and Ranganath Vinay Kumar.

India play a Twenty20 International on 4th June before five One-Day Internationals from 6th to 16th June before three Test matches in June and July.

This is their first tour since the 2011 World Cup victory and the squad sees a return for Praveen Kumar, who missed out on the World Cup due to injury and leg-spinner Amit Mishra is also included at the expense of Piyush Chawla, who was involved in the World Cup.

Ashish Nehra was unavailable due to injury, allowing Vinay Kumar, who last featured for India in a tri-series in Zimbabwe in August 2010, to come back having produced a string of impressive performances for the Royal Challengers Bangalore in the Indian Premier League.

Powerful opening batsman Virender Sehwag also misses the tour having undergone shoulder surgery, which leaves a spot at the top of the order up for grabs with Rohit Sharma, Badrinath and Virat Kohli probably in contention.

India ODI/T20I squad: Gautam Gambhir (captain), Ravichandran Ashwin, Subramaniam Badrinath, Harbhajan Singh, Praveen Kumar, Ranganath Vinay Kumar, Virat Kohli, Amit Mishra, Munaf Patel, Parthiv Patel, Yusuf Pathan, Suresh Raina, Wriddhaman Saha, Ishant Sharma, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh

© Cricket World 2011