Gayle Opts For IPL Over Playing For West Indies

Gayle Opts For IPL Over Playing For West Indies
Gayle Opts For IPL Over Playing For West Indies
©REUTERS / Action Images

Opening batsman Chris Gayle has disappointed the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) by making himself unavailable for the upcoming series against Pakistan to play in the Indian Premier League.

Gayle is one of three players - Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard being the others - who did not sign WICB retainer contracts and although the board are unhappy with his latest decision, they have given him a No Objection Certificate, allowing him to replace Dirk Nannes in the Royal Challengers Bangalore squad.

"The WICB granted the NOC only after Gayle officially notified the Board of his decision not to make himself available for selection for the Pakistan leg of the Digicel Series," a lengthy and detailed statement from the WICB confirmed.

"The WICB does not accept Gayle’s reason for making himself unavailable but as he has already clearly made his choice and has travelled to India, the WICB does not wish to stand in his way."

The board went on to make clear that although Gayle was not picked for the first two One-Day Internationals against Pakistan due to injury and the rehabilitation programme he was on.

"The WICB was surprised to learn that Gayle had been making arrangements to play cricket in India when the WICB was under the clear impression that he was recovering from injury and was undergoing rehabilitation work and about to resume training," the statement added.

"The WICB is most disappointed in the manner in which Gayle has handled the entire situation, especially given the mature and cooperative manner in which two other players who refused contracts– Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard – made themselves available for selection and agreed to an understanding in the best interest of West Indies cricket," it concluded.

Gayle previously represented the Kolkata Knight Riders in the Indian Premier League before he was not picked up at this year's auction.

© Cricket World 2011