< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Gayle Rested For New Zealand T20s

Kieron Pollard
Kieron Pollard has been recalled to the West Indies' Twenty20 International squad to play New Zealand
©REUTERS / Action Images

The West Indies have rested Chris Gayle and recalled Christopher Barnwell, Darren Bravo and Kieron Polalrd to a 13-man squad for the two Twenty20 Internationals against New Zealand.

Sunil Narine, who was not considered for the Test series after playing in the Indian Premier League final, is back in the squad, which will be led by Darren Sammy.

From the 15-man squad that took part in the ICC World Twenty20 in Bangladesh earlier this year, Johnson Charles, Ravi Rampaul and Marlon Samuels are left out.

Gayle has been rested and Dwayne Bravo is unavailable due to injury.

Batsman Darren Bravo is recalled, along with all-rounders Barnwell and Pollard, the latter after a long absence due to injury.

Both games, on 5th and 6th July, will be played at Windsor Park in Dominica.

West Indies Twenty20 International squad: Darren Sammy (captain), Samuel Badree, Christopher Barnwell, Darren Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Andre Fletcher, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Krishmar Santokie, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith

© Cricket World 2014