Gayle, Samuels recalled for ODI series against England

Chris Gayle is back in the West Indies ODI squad
Chris Gayle is back in the West Indies ODI squad

West Indies have recalled senior batsmen Chris Gayle and Marlon Samuels for the upcoming One-Day International series against England.

Gayle, last featured for West Indies during the 2015 World Cup where he amassed a 215-run knock against Zimbabwe during the group stage. Meanwhile, Samuels last played in the format in 2016 during the United Arab Emirates tour against Pakistan in which he managed scores of 46, 57 and 13.

West Indies chairman of selectors Courtney Browne believes the experience of Gayle and Samuels will prove handy in tough English conditions.

"With regards to the selection of the ODI squad, the panel welcomes back Chris Gayle and Marlon Samuels, who will both add value to our batting and help with the nurturing of the young batsmen in the team".

Uncapped opening batsman Sunil Ambris has been called up to the squad after a successful outing in the Regional Super50 tournament. He has 724 runs at an average of over 50 in the 20 List A games till now. Also, joining the squad for the first time is Kyle Hope, who is already part of the Test squad.

Meanwhile, Browne has confirmed that Darren Bravo and Sunil Narine were not available for selection while Dwayne Bravo is yet to regain complete fitness. Other notable omission includes the likes of Carlos Brathwaite, Jonathan Carter and Roston Chase.

"Both Sunil Narine and Darren Bravo have declined to be considered for ODIs in England.

"Narine has however confirmed his desire to play 50-over cricket again but has asked to play in our Regional Super50 before he is considered and Darren said he was not available for selection.

"Dwayne Bravo said he is still not 100% fit, but is looking at a possible return to international cricket next year."

The five-match ODI series will be played between 19th and 29th September.

West Indies squad for ODI series against England:

Sunil Ambris, Devendra Bishoo, Miguel Cummins, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder (captain), Kyle Hope, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Ashley Nurse, Rovman Powell, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor and Kesrick Williams.

© Cricket World 2017