< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

George Bailey to lead Hobart Hurricanes in BBL 2017/18

George Bailey will captain Hobart Hurricanes in the upcoming season
George Bailey will captain Hobart Hurricanes in the upcoming season

Australia batsman George Bailey has been named as the captain of Hobart Hurricanes in the upcoming 2017/18 season of Big Bash League.

The 35-year-old will take over the reins from wicket-keeper batsman Tim Paine, who led the team to a seventh finish in the previous season.

Overall, Bailey has scored 935 runs from 39 Big Bash League games since its inaugural edition in 2011 that is spread across two franchises, Hobart Hurricanes, and Melbourne Stars and in the previous season he amassed 247 runs from eight matches at an average close to 50 for the Tasmanian franchise.

"I'm really excited about this opportunity, it's been a couple of years since I've had the captaincy," Bailey said.

"There's been a few changes - new coach, new CEO, so there'll be a different feel around the group. It's the one tournament Tasmania hasn't won yet so I'm looking forward to rectifying that."

Hobart Hurricanes open their upcoming Big Bash League campaign with a clash against Melbourne Renegades at Bellerive Oval on 21st December.

Hobart Hurricanes squad (until now)

George Bailey (captain), James Bazley, Cameron Boyce, Dan Christian, Hamish Kingston, Ben McDermott, Tim Paine, Jake Reed, Clive Rose, Beau Webster.

© Cricket World 2017