Gilchrist, Gavaskar Recognised As Bradman Honourees

Cricketers Adam Gilchrist and Sunil Gavaskar were recognised as Bradman Honourees at the Bradman Gala Dinner 2010 at the SCG last night (20th October).

The dinner featured Michael Slater and Tim Gilbert as Masters of Ceremony, Barry Humphries’ unique view on cricket, and award-winning singer Adam Harvey. It came only a few weeks before the world’s only International Cricket Hall of Fame opens in Bowral.

A major fundraiser for the Bradman Foundation, the Gala Dinner is now regarded as the premier cricket dinner in Australia. Attendees also had the privilege of walking onto the SCG Oval, right up to the pitch, to learn how the wicket is prepared.

The new Bradman Honourees, Adam Gilchrist and Sunil Gavaskar, joined the ranks of cricketing greats such as Sam Loxton, Alan Davidson, and Arthur Morris. Previous Honourees Dennis Lillee and Neil Harvey also attended.

Sunil Gavaskar (left) and Adam Gilchrist were honoured at a star-studded event in Sydney
Sunil Gavaskar (left) and Adam Gilchrist were honoured at a star-studded event in Sydney

Adam Gilchrist’s award is significant as he is the first Honouree to still be playing the game. His achievements include being the first player to successfully master three codes of cricket: Test, One Day International and Twenty20. In keeping with the spirit of Sir Donald Bradman, Gilchrist was also noted for contributing to the integrity of the game and for his conduct on and off the field.

Sunil Gavaskar is the first international Bradman Honouree. Embodying the Bradman principles of courage, honour, humility, integrity and determination, Gavaskar has had a profound impact on cricket in India. He is recognised as the most successful of all opening batsmen and is credited for teaching his teammates and their successors the virtue of unconditional professionalism.

Gavaskar’s honour is also timely, given that the International Cricket Hall of Fame will be complete in November. This unique museum will comprise nine themed exhibitions incorporating interactive technology new to Australia. It will trace cricket history, demonstrate today’s game and provide inspiration for tomorrow. Through this new attraction, the Bradman Foundation aims to keep Sir Donald’s vision vibrant and relevant.

Previous Honourees are:
2009          Alan Davidson & Dennis Lillee
2008          Bill Brown & Arthur Morris
2007          Neil Harvey & Sam Loxton
2006          Norm O’Neill