Gillespie Returns To New Zealand Test Squad

Gillespie Returns To New Zealand Test Squad
Gillespie Returns To New Zealand Test Squad
©REUTERS / Action Images

Fast bowler Mark Gillespie has been handed a recall to New Zealand's Test squad ahead of the second Test against South Africa, which begins in Hamilton on Thursday (15th March).

Gillespie, who has played three Tests, replaces Tim Southee in the squad following the rain-affected drawn opener in Dunedin.

BJ Watling and Dean Brownlie were not considered due to injury and the 14-mans squad includes uncapped spinner Tarun Nethula and all-rounder Andrew Ellis.

"We have selected a similar Test squad to the one which has played well all summer," New Zealand Cricket (NZC) National Selection Manager Kim Littlejohn commented.

"Tim Southee hasn’t been included.  He a talented young fast bowler and we are confident he will return to the Plunket Shield and continue to put pressure on those in the Test team.

"Mark Gillespie returns to international cricket after showing good form recently and provides and strong and reliable bowling option.

"We are pleased to be able to offer Tarun an opportunity. He is bowling well and offers a point of difference to the attack."

Gillespie last played for New Zealand in January 2009 against the West Indies but has recently returned career-best figures of six for 41 in the Plunket Shield.

His Test debut came in 2007 against South Africa before he also played against England and the West Indies.

New Zealand Test squad: Ross Taylor (captain), Brent Arnel, Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Andrew Ellis, Mark Gillespie, Martin Guptill, Chris Martin, Brendon McCullum, Tarun Nethula, Rob Nicol, Kruger van Wyk, Daniel Vettori, Kane Wiilliamson

© Cricket World 2012