Global T20 Canada League Curtain Raiser: All you need to know

West Indies' Chris Gayle in action
©Reuters/Matthew Childs

There is a new T20 league in town which is known as the Global T20 Canada League (Jun 28-Jul 15).  The league will have a total of 6 teams, out of which there would be 5 franchises from Canada and one team representing Cricket Windies. Each of the five domestic teams will have a minimum of four Canadians which is expected to rise in the coming years.

22 matches will be played in all, with the league stage consisting of 18 games and the playoff stage consisting of 4 games. In the first round, each team will play each other in a total of 15 matches. All matches will be played at the Maple Leaf Cricket Club in King City, 26 miles away from Toronto.

Here is a detailed look at all the teams:

Toronto Nationals

Toronto Nationals will be led by former Windies World Cup winning Captain Darren Sammy. However, the centre of attraction will be Steven Smith who is making a comeback to competitive cricket after the ball tampering fiasco. Another big name featuring in the side is Windies all-rounder Kieron Pollard.

Captain- Darren Sammy

Coach- Phil Simmons

Squad: Darren Sammy, Steven Smith, Kieron Pollard, Kamran Akmal, Hussain Talat, Rumman Raees, Nikhil Dutta, Johnson Charles, Kesrick Williams, Naveed Ahmad, Farhan Malik, Usama Mir, Rohan Mustafa, Nitish Kumar, Nizakat Khan, Mohammad Umair, Anton Devcich, Mohammad Sami

Montreal Tigers

Lasith Malinga will take charge of the Montreal Tigers. Malinga has been out of the Sri Lankan team for quite a while now and was a mentor for the Mumbai Indians in the recently concluded season of the IPL. Sunil Narine, Thisara Perera, Mohammad Hafeez, Peter Siddle, Moises Henriques and Dwayne Smith are the other international picks.

Captain- Lasith Malinga

Coach- Tom Moody

Squad: Lasith Malinga, Sunil Narine, Thisara Perera, Mohammad Hafeez, Denesh Ramdin, Sandeep Lamichhane, Sikandar Raza, Dasun Shanaka, Isuru Udana, George Worker, Najibullah Zadran, Cecil Pervez, Ibrahim Khaleel, Dillon Heyliger, Nicholas Kirton, Rayyan Pathan, Dwayne Smith, Moises Henriques, Peter Siddle, Kevon Cooper

Vancouver Knights

Over the years, Chris Gayle has become synonymous with cricket entertainment. The Universe Boss will lead the Vancouver Knights in the league. Equally popular Windies' all-rounder Andre Russell will form the backbone of the side, while Evin Lewis and Tim Southee would be the other big players who will hog the limelight.

Captain- Chris Gayle

Coach- Donovan Miller

Squad: Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Evin Lewis, Tim Southee, Chadwick Walton, Fawad Ahmed, Babar Hayat, Sheldon Cottrell, Saad Bin Zafar, Ruvindu Gunasekera, Srimantha Wijeratne, Kamau Leverock, Steven Jacobs, Salman Nazar, Rassie van der Dussen, Jeremy Gordon

Winnipeg Hawks

Veteran Windies all-rounder Dwayne Bravo will lead the franchise. Although the side has explosive South African batsman David Miller, all eyes will turn towards David Warner who is making a comeback to competitive cricket while serving his one-year suspension.

Captain- Dwayne Bravo

Coach- Waqar Younis

Squad: Dwayne Bravo, David Miller, David Warner, Lendl Simmons, Darren Bravo, Fidel Edwards, Rayad Emrit, Ben McDermott, Ali Khan, Hamza Tariq, Junaid Siddique, Tion Webster, Rizwan Cheema, Hiral Patel, Mark Deyal, Kyle Phillip

Edmonton Royals

Shahid Afridi, who recently played his last international match, will marshall his troops in Edmonton Royals. Afridi will get support from compatriots Mohammad Irfan, Sohail Tanvir and Umar Akmal. New Zealand keeper-batsman Luke Ronchi will also feature in the side.

Captain- Shahid Afridi

Coach- Mohammad Akram

Squad: Shahid Afridi, Luke Ronchi, Mohammad Irfan, Sohail Tanvir, Christiaan Jonker, Wayne Parnell, Asif Ali, Hasan Khan, Agha Salman, Shaiman Anwar, Satsimranjit Dhindsa, Ahmed Raza, Abraash Khan, Ammar Khalid, Simon Pervez, Umar Akmal, Farhaan Behardien, Andre Fletcher

Cricket Windies representative team

Seasoned first-class player Anthony Bramble is the designated Captain of the representative side of Cricket Windies in the tournament. Nicholas Pooran is a player in the team who has had some International exposure. When the team will lock horns with several star Windies cricketers in other teams, it will certainly bring out the best out of them.

Captain- Anthony Bramble

Squad: Anthony Bramble, Fabian Allen, Alick Athanaze, Roland Cato, Justin Greaves, Derval Green, Kavem Hodge, Brandon King, Jeremiah Louis, Obed McCoy, Khary Pierre, Nicholas Pooran, Sherfane Rutherford, Shamar Springer

The tournament will be broadcast live throughout the world on the following channels:

India- Star Sports 1, Star Sports 1 HD

UK- FreeSports

Canada- Asian Television Network

Caribbean- Sportsmax

Australia- Fox Sports

Pakistan- Geo Sports

Bangladesh- Ghazi TV

Middle-East- Orbit Showtime Network

So fasten your seatbelts and come along on the extravaganza. Rest assured it will be a lot of fun.

All the latest news, live score updates, match reports and match predictions on GT20 Canada here

© Cricket World 2018