< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

GT19 - Andre Russell's all-round heroics not enough to stop Winnipeg Hawks from lifting the trophy after exhilarating super over

Winnipeg Hawks celebrate after winning the super over
Winnipeg Hawks celebrate after winning the super over

After recovering from his knee surgery, Andre Russell picked up four wickets, scored an unbeaten 46 and then came back to bat and bowl in the super over for Vancouver Knights, but Winnipeg Hawks' team effort helped them sail through.

Match Summary 

Winnipeg Hawks 192-8

Vancouver Knights 192-6

Winnipeg Hawks won in the super over

40-year-old UAE international Shaiman Anwar and Chris Lynn started off in explosive fashion for Winnipeg Hawks, both going at a strike rate of around 200. The partnership was finally broken for 73 in the 6th over.

After Lynn was dismissed for 37, Anwar joined hands with JP Duminy to up the ante and scored a 45-ball 90, taking the team to 192-8.

Andre Russell was the star for Vancouver Knights and picked up four wickets while bowling economically. Ali Khan and Ryyan Pathan also bagged two each.

In reply, both Vancouver Knights openers Chadwick Walton and Tobias Visee were accounted for by Winnipeg Hawks' skipper Rayad Emrit in the second over. Rassie van der Dussen and Daniel Sams made important contributions but it was Shoaib Malik who brought the Knights back into the match with a 36-ball 64.

When Andre Russell came to the crease, the equation was 54 required of 19 balls but Russell, with a 20-ball 46, took the match right down to the last ball.

After the scores were tied, he came back in the super over as Vancouver Knights scored nine runs. Four byes and a boundary off the outside edge from Chris Lynn ultimately saw Winnipeg Hawks win the title.

Vancouver Knights- Tobias Visee, Chadwick Walton, Rassie van der Dussen, Shoaib Malik, Andre Russell, Hayden Walsh, Saad Bin Zafar, Daniel Sams, Michael Rippon, Rayyan Pathan, Ali Khan

Winnipeg Hawks- Shaiman Anwar, Chris Lynn, Jean-Paul Duminy, Dwayne Smith, Sunny Sohal, Rayad Emrit, Hamza Tariq, Paul van Meekeren, Mohammad Irfan, Kaleem Sana, Umair Ghani

A look at the star performers: