< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Gujarat Titans v Rajasthan Royals, Final: Hardik leads from the front as Gujarat emerge champion

Gujarat Titans beat Rajasthan Royals by seven wickets in the IPL 2022 final to claim the title in their inaugural season.

After opting to bat, Rajasthan posted 130 for nine in their 20 overs and in their response Gujarat chased the target in 18.1 overs to finish on 133 for three.

Rajasthan started off competently through Yashasvi Jaiswal and Jos Buttler (39). After that captain Sanju Samson fell for 14. Rajasthan slipped from 60 for one to 79 for four. The middle-order just did not put up any fight of any kind. Towards the end Riyan Parag tried to use the long handle in the company of Trent Boult. But it was too little too late. Rajasthan finished on 130 for nine in their 20 overs. For Gujarat the best bowlers were captain Hardik Pandya (3-17) and Sai Kishore (2-20).

In their response, Gujarat lost Wriddhiman Saha and Matthw Wade quite cheaply. But from 23 for two, Gujarat innings was revived by a 63 run third wicket stand between captain Pandya and Shubman Gill. Gill was given two lives as the chase proceeded quite easily. In the end, Gujarat overhauled the target in 18.1 overs to finish on 133 for three. 

Match Summary
Rajasthan Royals: 130-9 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-31 (Yashasvi Jaiswal-3.6 ov), 2-60 (Sanju Samson-8.2 ov), 3-79 (Devdutt Padikkal-11.5 ov), 4-79 (Jos Buttler-12.1 ov), 5-94 (Shimron Hetmyer-14.6 ov), 6-98 (Ravichandran Ashwin-15.5 ov), 7-112 (Trent Boult-17.3 ov), 8-130 (Obed McCoy-19.4 ov), 9-130 (Riyan Parag-19.6 ov)

Gujarat Titans: 133-3 (18.1)
Fall of wickets: 1-9 (Wriddhiman Saha-1.4 ov), 2-23 (Matthew Wade-4.3 ov), 3-86 (Hardik Pandya-13.2 ov)

Result: Gujarat Titans won by seven wickets 


Playing XI
Gujarat Titans: Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Matthew Wade, Hardik Pandya (captain), David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Mohammed Shami, Yash Dayal, Lockie Ferguson

Rajasthan Royals: Jos Buttler, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper & captain), Devdutt Padikkal, Shimron Hetmyer, Riyan Parag, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Yuzvendra Chahal, Prasidh Krishna, Obed McCoy

Match Details
Toss: Rajasthan Royals, elected to bat
Venue: Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad
Start time: 1530 hrs GMT
Match officials: Chris Gaffaney, Nitin Menon (On-field Umpires); KN Ananthapadmanabhan (TV Umpire); Anil Chaudhary (Reserve Umpire); Javagal Srinath (Match-referee)

© Cricket World 2022