< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Guptill century help New Zealand chase down 357 runs against Sri Lanka

Marthin Guptill (right) in action during the warm-up game against Sri Lanka
Marthin Guptill (right) in action during the warm-up game against Sri Lanka

New Zealand 359-4 (Guptill 116) beat
Sri Lanka 356-8 (Tharanga 110) by six wickets
Warm-up game, ICC Champions Trophy, Birmingham

Martin Guptill played a 76-ball 116 run knock while Kane Williamson supported him with 88 runs as New Zealand managed to chase down 357 runs against Sri Lanka with six wickets in hand in their warm-up game in Birmingham.

New Zealand decided to field first on winning the toss. Sri Lanka used as many as eight batsmen in their line-up with Niroshan Dickwella (25) scoring the least among the top four.

Upul Tharanga (110) looked at his aggressive best during his 104- ball knock while Kusal Mendis (57) and Dinesh Chandimal (55) played handy knocks as Sri Lanka crossed the 200-run mark in 30 overs.

New Zealand, who themselves had nine bowlers in operation, gained some grounds in the final eight overs where they conceded just 51 runs but Sri Lanka still posted a formidable total of 356 for eight in their 50 overs after Kusal Perera (38) and Seekkuge Prasanna (23) providing late flourish.

Guptill (116 retired out) and Tom Latham (44) provided a solid opening stand of 74 runs but the decisive partnership though came for the second wicket. Guptill along with Williamson (88) retired out adding 157 runs off just 94 deliveries.

Both batsmen decided to retire out after ensuring the required run rate was firmly in control while Prasanna (2-63) their only wicket-taker in the innings, had Ross Taylor (11) dismissed cheaply.

Any hopes of Sri Lanka making a comeback was put-off after Corey Anderson (50 not out) smashing an unbeaten 36-ball fifty with three each of fours and sixes to complete the chase in 46.1 overs with six wickets in hand.

© Cricket World 2017