< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Guptill Sets Up New Zealand Victory

Martin Guptill
Martin Guptill top scored for New Zealand as they moved into a 2-1 series lead over the West Indies
©REUTERS / Action Images

New Zealand 285-6 (Guptill 81) beat
West Indies 134-5 by 59 runs (D/L)
Fourth One-Day International, Nelson

Martin Guptill top scored with 81 as New Zealand took a 59-run win on the Duckworth/Lewis method over the West Indies in the fourth One-Day International in Nelson.

The rain ended the match with the West Indies on 134 for five in 33.4 overs after New Zealand had posted 285 for six - just two runs more than they had managed in 21 overs during the third ODI, which they also won.

This was, however, another strong performance from the Black Caps against a West Indies side missing several key players including Chris Gayle, Darren Bravo and Darren Sammy.

Batting first, Guptill made a steady start, going on to hit 81 in 119 balls as Jesse Ryder (47 in 49 balls), Kane Williamson (47 in 55) and Ross Taylor (49 in 44) batted aggressively.

Guptill fell in the 42nd over and Taylor in the 47th but New Zealand's innings continued to flourish thanks to Corey Anderson's unbeaten 17 in 13 balls.

There was a wicket apiece for Jason Holder, Tino Best and Narsingh Deonarine while Dwayne Bravo took two by removing Ryder and Luke Ronchi (9).

Neither West Indian opener managed to score a run; both Chadwick Walton and Johnson Charles departing for ducks and although Kirk Edwards (24 in 40 balls) did his best to revive the innings, the West Indies were always struggling.

Despite Lendl Simmons hitting 43 in 48 balls and Bravo being unbeaten on 43 in 55, they were behind the run-rate and well short of the D/L par scores as their innings went on.

Losing the wickets of Simmons and then Deonarine (3) hurt them further and when play was ended with Denesh Ramdin unbeaten on 17, they needed to be on 193 to claim the honours.

New Zealand now lead the five-match series 2-1 with one game, in Hamilton on Wednesday 8th January, remaining.

© Cricket World 2014