< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Gurkeerat retained, India name unchanged squad

Gurkeerat retained, India name unchanged squad
India lead the series against South Africa 1-0 with two more games to go.
©REUTERS / Action Images

The Indian selectors have retained all-rounder Gurkeerat Singh and have named an unchanged 17-man squad for the third and fourth Test matches against South Africa.

Singh joins Umesh Yadav and Bhuvneshwar Kumar as the players who return from state duties after being released from the squad for the second Test match in Bangalore.

India squad for third and fourth Test

Virat Kohli (captain), Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha (wkt), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Varun Aaron, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Stuart Binny, Gurkeerat Singh

The 25-year-old has been putting up impressive performances in the domestic matches, including a double century in the first-class match against Railways in Mohali in October.

Indian captain, Virat Kohli refused to disclose if Singh will be handed a debut, but reckons that he will be a very crucial player for India in the future.

"He (Gurkeerat Singh Mann) has earned his call-up.

“He certainly fits in scheme of things and don't be surprised if you see him playing soon.

“I wish him all the luck.

“I can't put a particular time when but he has ability with the bat at that No.6 or No.7 position.

“He is a very dangerous, instinctive player, who can take the game away from opposition.”

After a 108-run win in the first Test in Mohali, India took a 1-0 lead in the four-match series, but the second game in Bangalore ended in a draw following four consecutive days of rain.

India will go into the second Test in Nagpur between 25th and 29th November with a chance to claim their first series victory against South Africa since 2004. 

© Cricket World 2015