< >
Cricket Betting us

Guyana Amazon book a place in Massy WCPL final

Guyana Amazon Warriors Women
Guyana Amazon Warriors Women
©CPL T20 via Getty Images

Guyana Amazon Warriors secured their place in the Massy Women’s Premier League (WCPL) final through a comfortable win against defending champions, Trinbago Knight Riders.

Match Summary

Guyana Amazon Warriors Women 78/1 (7.3 ov)

Trinbago Knight Riders Women 72/10 (17 ov)

Guyana Amazon Warriors Women won by 9 wickets


After winning the toss and batting first, the Trinbago Knight Riders struggled to make an impact throughout the innings, falling to 72 all out with just two batters reaching double figures.

The visitors had no problems as they chased the Knight Riders’ total with more than 12 overs to spare, thanks to Sophie Devine’s 200 strike rate knock.

Orla Prendergast struggled to get going on her WCPL debut, scoring 9 from 10 balls before she was dismissed. Deandra Dottin kept hopes alive as she dug in for 25 from 21 balls after Kycia Knight’s start came to an end. But when the captain fell at 60/6, it didn’t take long for the Warriors’ bowlers to finish off the hosts’ lower order.

The Warriors set their impression on the chase immediately, taking 11 runs off the first over in pursuit of 73.

Devine continued on with her fine form to reach 38 from 19 balls, finishing the innings with a six to book a place in the final against the Barbados Royals.

Dottin had the only moment of enjoyment with the ball for the hosts when she dismissed Suzie Bates for a run-a-ball 18. Captain Stafanie Taylor helped finished off the chase, coming in for an unbeaten 50 partnership with Devine to win the game inside eight overs.

 Match Stats

Trinbago Knight Riders Women Fall of wickets1-9 (Marie Kelly - 2.1 ov), 2-25 (Orla Prendergast - 4.3 ov), 3-52 (Kycia Knight - 9.3 ov), 4-52 (Mignon du Preez - 9.4 ov), 5-56 (Kyshona Knight - 10.4 ov), 6-60 (Deandra Dottin - 11.2 ov), 7-68 (Zaida James - 14.5 ov), 8-68 (Anisa Mohammed - 15.1 ov), 9-72 (Fran Jonas - 16.3 ov), 10-72 (Samara Ramnath - 16.6 ov)

Guyana Amazon Warriors Women Fall of wickets1-38 (Suzie Bates - 4.3 ov)

Playing XI

Guyana Amazon Warriors Women: Shemaine Campbelle(WK), Sophie Devine(C), Natasha McLean, Stafanie Taylor, Suzie Bates, Sheneta Grimmond, Shabika Gajnabi, Shabnim Ismail, Shakera Selman, Shreyanka Patil, Karishma Ramharack

Trinbago Knight Riders Women:, Kycia Knight(WK), Deandra Dottin(C), Mignon du Preez, Marie Kelly, Kyshona Knight, Orla Prendergast, Zaida James, Anisa Mohammed, Fran Jonas, Shamilia Connell, Samara Ramnath

Match Details:

DateSaturday, September 9, 2023 20:30

Venue: Brian Lara Stadium, Tarouba

Toss: Trinbago Knight Riders Women elected to bat

Officials Umpires: Candace la Borde (West Indies) Maria Abbott (West Indies) Jacqueline Williams (West Indies TV)

Match Referee: Michael Ragoonath (West Indies)

© Cricket World 2023