< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Guyana Amazon Warriors Win CPL 2014 Opener

A shot from the launch of the 2014 Caribbean Premier League
A shot from the launch of the 2014 Caribbean Premier League
©Caribbean Premier League

Guyana Amazon Warriors 140-8 beat
Antigua Hawksbills 136-8 by two wickets
Caribbean Premier League, Grenada

The Guyana Amazon Warriors beat the Antigua Hawksbills by two wickets with three balls remaining as the 2014 Caribbean Premier League got off to a flying start in Grenada.

Batting first, the Hawksbills made 136 for eight and the game went right down to the wire before the Warriors, with Sunil Narine and Krishmar Santokie at the crease, finished off the match.

Narine had earlier conceded just three runs from four overs in a remarkable spell of bowling to keep the Hawksbills to a chaseable target.

Ben Dunk hit five fours and two sixes to lead the Antigua innings, scoring 38 in 21 balls with support coming from Shacaya Thomas (20) and Danza Hyatt (36) before Narine equalled Shoaib Malk's feat of conceding just three runs from his spell.

Devon Thomas hit an unbeaten 16 in 10 balls to give the Hawksbills some late momentum as Jimmy Neesham picked up three for 33 and three batsmen were run out.

Guyana made a terrible start as openers Lendl Simmons (0) and Martin Guptill (4) both failed before Mohammad Hafeez (35) and Denesh Ramdin (51 in 36 balls) revived the innings with a 59-run stand for the third wicket.

Antigua came back as Sheldon Cottrell took three for 24, removing Simmons, Neesham (11) and Veerasammy Permaul (15) and when Ramdin fell in the 17th over, Guyana were 112 for seven and in danger of throwing away a winning position.

However, Narine held his nerve, and needing four to win from the final over, he hit the third ball to the boundary to seal the win.

"I am delighted with the win and happy how we pulled things back with the ball, Sunil Narine is world class," a happy Ramdin said after the game.

Today sees a double-header with the Barbados Tridents playing the Trinidad & Tobago Red Steel and reigning champions the Jamaica Tallawahs taking on the St Lucia Zouks.

© Cricket World 2014