< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Guyana, Trinidad Move Clear

Lendl Simmons
Lendl Simmons hit an important half-century for the Guyana Amazon Warriors
©REUTERS / Action Images

The Guyana Amazon Warriors and the Trinidad & Tobago Red Steel moved clear at the top of the Caribbean Premier League 2014 by beating the Barbados Tridents and the Jamaica Tallawahs.

The Red Steel beat the reigning champions the Tallawahs by 13 runs before Guyana produced a fine comeback to beat Barbados by seven runs in the later game.

Evin Lewis top scored with 72 in 43 as the Red Steel posted 183 for five before Jamaica closed on 170 for six.

Lewis struck two fours and eight sixes and with support from Kevin O'Brien (32), Darren Bravo (30) and Darren Bravo (24 not out), they put up an excellent score.

A brace of wickets for Rusty Theron and Andre Russell, who also took an outstanding catch to dismiss Nic Pooran, were the pick of the bowlers for Jamaica.

In reply, Chris Gayle blasted 60 in 46 balls before O'Brien returned four for 22 to turn the game on its head.

Despite Russell hammering 40 in 17 balls, O'Brien's burst of wickets had left Jamaica with too much to do and they closed short.

Later on, a second century in three innings from Dwayne Smith was not enough for the Barbados Tridents, who finished on 166 for four after Guyana had posted 173 for five.

Lendl Simmons hit 64 in 40 balls for Guyana at the start and their innings was given a flying finish thanks to Mohammad Hafeez's 30 in 10 deliveres.

Martin Guptill also made an unbeaten 55 in 51 balls.

Still missing Sunil Narine due to injury, Guyana had their work cut out and even more so after putting down early chances to catch both Smith  and Shoaib Malik.

Malik went on to make 50 before he was run out but with Smith moving past three figures, Barbados needed 22 to win from the final three overs.

Outstanding bowling from Ronsford Beaton sealed the deal for Guyana, with the wicket of Kieron Pollard and the run out off his own bowling of Jeevan Mendis.

© Cricket World 2014