Haddin Named As Vice-Captain For Twenty20 Match

Australia have named wicket-keeper Brad Haddin as vice-captain for the Twenty20 International against New Zealand on Sunday (February 15th) in Sydney.

Ricky Ponting has been rested after his return to One Day action and Michael Clarke again takes over the captaincy. New South Wales all-rounder Moises Henriques has been called up for the first time while Peter Siddle, Callum Ferguson and Adam Voges all take their places in the squad.

Mike Hussey is also rested ahead of the tour to South Africa.

"The National Selection Panel (NSP) has again picked a squad for this KFC Twenty20 against New Zealand with a view to continuing the development of our younger players and in preparation for the ICC World Twenty20 to be played in England during June this year," NSPchairman Andrew Hilditch said.

“Given the high workload of Ricky Ponting and Mike Hussey since the Indian Test series in October we have decided, in consultation with these players, it is appropriate they miss this game.

“With a hectic and competitive South African campaign departing the day after this match, we felt this option was best in the interest of the player’s workload management.

“This also provides a wonderful opportunity for Moises Henriques. The NSP regards Moises as an exciting young player with the all-round ability to play a role in the World Twenty20. We recently included him in the PM’s XI match against New Zealand where he played exceptionally well and we are hoping this opportunity will help him to continue his development.

“David Warner also returns to the Australian squad for this Twenty20 match. While David was disappointed to be dropped from the one-day squad, we regard him as an exciting young player who definitely remains in our thoughts for the World Twenty20.”

The match will be preceded by Australia Women taking on New Zealand Women.

Australia: Michael Clarke (captain), Brad Haddin (vice-captain), Nathan Bracken, Callum Ferguson, Moises Henriques, Ben Hilfenhaus, James Hopes, David Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Peter Siddle, Adam Voges, David Warner, Cameron White

© Cricket World 2009