< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Hafeez, Shakib stumble Lahore Qalandars in chase

Shakib Al Hasan scored 30 runs and picked two wickets for Peshawar Zalmi
Shakib Al Hasan scored 30 runs and picked two wickets for Peshawar Zalmi
©Chris Whiteoak

Peshawar Zalmi 166-6 (Akmal 58) beat
Lahore Qalandars 149-9 (Tanvir 36no) by 17 runs
16th match, Pakistan Super League, Dubai

Spinners Mohammad Hafeez and Shakib Al Hasan triggered a top-order collapse as Lahore Qalandars managed only 149 for nine in a chase of 167 allowing Peshawar Zalmi to seal a 17-run victory in the 16th match of Pakistan Super League in Dubai.

Peshawar Zalmi won the toss and decided to bat first. Aamer Yamin (1-28) dealt early blow to Zalmi's innings when he had Tamim Iqbal (5) caught and bowled but Kamran Akmal (58) played positively to get the total to 52 for one at the end of powerplay.

Hafeez's (13) 18-ball vigil ended when he was castled by Yasir Shah (2-19) while Sunil Narine (1-28) brought an early end to his team-mate Marlon Samuels (17) innings. At the halfway mark, Zalmi's were 78 for two.

Akmal brought his fifty off 36 deliveries but was stumped off Shah soon after reaching the milestone following which a 24-ball cameo from Shakib (30) took Peshawar Zalmi to 166 for six in the 20 overs.

Cameron Delport (32) gave Lahore Qalandars a blistering start in the chase when he plundered seven boundaries in the firs three overs to take the score to 32 for naught but Hasan Ali (1-32) brought a premature end to what looked like a promising innings.

Hafeez (2-25) and Shakib (2-14) struck twice in tandem to dismiss Fakhar Zaman (0), Umar Akmal (1), Mohammad Rizwan (4) and Grant Elliott (0) while Brendon McCullum (6) was run out leaving Lahore Qalandars reeling at 43 for six.

Despite, contributions from lower order, Narine (21), Yamin (25), Sohail Tanvir (36 not out) and Shah (22), Lahore could manage only 149 for nine in the 20 overs.

The 17-run win has taken Peshawar Zalmi to third place in the table with Shakib bagging the man of the match award for his all-round performance.

© Cricket World 2017