< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Hampshire go through to One Day Cup Final with emphatic win over Yorkshire

Hampshire go through to One Day Cup Final thanks to James Vince 171

Yorkshire won the toss and decided to field at the Ageas Bowl, Southampton, in the Semi Final of the Royal London One Day Cup against Hampshire.

Hampshire 348-9 (James Vince 171, Sam Northeast 58, Ben Coad 2-48 , Tim Bresnan 2-71 and Steven Patterson 2-56)

Fall of Wickets - 1-30 (JHK Adams, 5.4 ov), 2-76 (RR Rossouw, 12.5 ov), 3-218 (SA Northeast, 33.3 ov), 4-244 (JJ Weatherley, 36.1 ov), 5-292 (LA Dawson, 42.2 ov), 6-313 (JM Vince, 45.6 ov), 7-333 (LD McManus, 48.2 ov), 8-336 (CP Wood, 48.5 ov), 9-342 (DW Steyn, 49.5 ov)

Yorkshire 241 (JonnyTattersall 89;  Liam Dawson 4-47, Chris Wood 3-46)

Fall of Wickets - 1-14 (Lyth, 3.4 ov), 2-15 (Pujara, 4.4 ov), 3-47 (Ballance, 11.4 ov), 4-73 (Kohler-Cadmore, 15.5 ov), 5-123 (JA Leaning, 25.6 ov), 6-173 (Bresnan, 33.6 ov), 7-223 (Tattersall, 40.3 ov), 8-227 (Patterson, 41.3 ov), 9-230 (Fisher, 41.6 ov), 10-241 (Coad, 43.4 ov)

Result  Hampshire won by 107 runs

James Vince 171, the Hampshire Captain, was outstanding today with the bat, enabling them to reach 348-9 in their allotted 50 overs. Sam Northeast 58 supported him well and they put on a partnership of 142 for the 3rd wicket. Vince’s 171 included 20x4s and 3x6s off just 126 balls.

Ben Coad 2-48 , Tim Bresnan 2-71 and Steven Patterson 2-56 were the pick of the Yorkshire bowlers.

In reply, Yorkshire were 15-2 having lost Lyth and Pujara early on and they never really recovered from that, losing wickets at regular intervals throughout their innings. Tidy bowling by the Hampshire bowlers pressurized the Yorkshire batsmen into mistakes, costing them dearly. Yorkshire were all out for 241, although JonnyTattersall 89 batted really well and deserved a hundred for Yorkshire.

Liam Dawson 4-47 and Chris Wood 3-46 were the pick of the Hampshire bowlers.

A great all round performance by Hampshire, who will now play Kent in the Final at Lord’s on June 30th.


Hampshire - Adams, Rossouw, Vince*, Weatherley, Northeast, Dawson, McManus+, Berg, Wood, Steyn, Topley.

Yorkshire - Lyth, Kohler-Cadmore, Pujara, Ballance, Tattersall+, Leaning, Bresnan, Fisher, Carver, Patterson*, Coad

For all the latest County News, Previews, Match Reports, Team Analysis and Videos

 © Cricket World 2018