< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Hampshire win Royal London One Day Cup at Lord's today by 61 runs

Hampshire win Royal London One Day Cup at Lord's today by 61 runs

Kent won the toss and decided to field at Lord's today, in the Final of the win Royal London One Day Cup. A decision that would would regret as Hampshire piled on a record 330-7 in their allotted 50 overs.

Hampshire 330-7 (Rilee Rossouw 125, Sam Northeast 75*, Tom Alsop 72; Joe Denly 4-57)

Kent   269     (Daniel Bell-Drummond 86, Sam Billings 75; Gareth Berg 2-43 )

Result Hampshire won by 61 runs

Rilee Rossouw 125 and Tom Alsop 72 put on an opening partnership of  136 scoring at over 6 runs an over. When Tom Alsop was out on 72 James Vince and Sam Northeast 75* continued the Hampshire charge and they eventually ended up with 330-7. Joe Denly 4-57 was the pick of the Kent bowlers with his leggies.

In reply, Kent were always going to be struggling to keep up with the run rate required and after Kuhn was brilliantly run out by Berg for 32, Kent lost wickets consistently under the pressure. Only Skipper Sam Billings 75 making any impact on the Hampshire bowlers.Gareth Berg 2-43 was the pick of ther Hampshire bowlers.

A great all round performance by Hampshire with bat, ball and in the field (with 4 run outs) combined to ensure that the Royal London One Day Cup goes back to the Ageas Bowl, in Southampton, tonight.


Kent Spitfires Squad: 7 Sam Billings (c), 23 Daniel Bell-Drummond, 4 Heino Kuhn, 6 Joe Denly, 58 Sean Dickson, 10 Alex Blake, 12 Adam Rouse, 3 Darren Stevens, 42 Will Gidman, 9 Grant Stewart, 25 Calum Haggett, 1 Harry Podmore, 24 Matt Henry, 11 Imran Qayyum, 8 Mitch Claydon.


Hampshire Hawks Squad Jimmy Adams (4), Lewis McManus (18), Chris Wood (25), Rilee Rossouw (30), Tom Alsop (9), Joe Weatherley (5), Gareth Berg (13), Sam Northeast (17), James Vince (14) Captain, Liam Dawson (8), Dale Steyn (2), Reece Topley (6), Mason Crane (32)

For all the latest County News, Previews, Match Reports, Team Analysis and Videos

 © Cricket World 2018