< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

Harrow St Mary's Survive As Thirds Win The Title

The victorious third team
©Harrow St Mary's CC
Left to right-Rohan Baminiya, Sikander Randhawa and Subhash Satyam.
Left to right-Rohan Baminiya, Sikander Randhawa and Subhash Satyam.
©Harrow St Mary's CC

Harrow St Mary's first team managed to avoid relegation this week with a win while the third team were crowned champions despite losing their match.

Harrow St Mary's 1st XI 221-8 (55 overs) beat
Winchmore Hill 1st XI 136 all out (28.5 overs)

Losing the toss, HSM were put in to bat and opened with Lakmal Kasthuri and Dhiren DeSilva. The two got off to a slow start getting 10 off the first six, then Kasthuri survived a dropped catch in the slips when on 19 and was dropped by the bowler on 37. 

After 20 overs they were 58 without loss, but in terms of the match and how HSM’s opening batsmen had played most of the season, this was a measured approach to this important game.

DeSilva was the first to fall, caught at cover for 16 in the 21st over. Kasthuri survived another drop, hit a four off his next ball to get his 50, but was caught at mid-off off the first ball after the drinks break for 57. 75 for two was the score in the 26th.

Curtley Louw and Jaimit Patel were now together and added 27 before Patel was caught behind for 17. Then Louw was run out on 32, casually coming back for a second run to leave the score 133 for four after 40 overs.

Ian Harris was bowled first ball and at 133 for five it looked like HSM might be struggling to post a defendable score but Tom Pettet and Sam Blennerhassett added 40 runs before Pettet was caught down the leg side.

Blennerhassett batted with some belligerence and when he was bowled on 45 Tuan Hadgie and Nish Selvakumar took the score past the 200 mark. Going for the run with two balls to go Selvakumar was caught at long on for 20 which brought in Haran Dharmaraja who had one ball of the innings to face and HSM finished on 221 for eight in 55 overs.

HSM needed to win to secure their position in the league and Winchmore Hill needed a win to enable them to stay up, so there was all to play for for both teams.

Having won the Premier League two seasons ago only to be relegated last season, Winchmore Hill now lay at the bottom of the table.

HSM got off to a dream start when Curtley Loew bowled ex-pro and opener Scott Newman for eight and then wickets fell at regular interval with Loew and Haran Dharmaraja sharing the spoils and Winchmore Hill were soon five down for only 61.

A change of bowlers brought further results. For once, the spin of Lakmal Kasthuri wasn’t needed, and Chris Brown first bowled their number seven and then claimed the vital wicket of Prior. At the other end Tuan Hadgie was also successful and it was he who claimed the final wicket that secured Saint’s place in Division Two for next season and what was a most emphatic win that sent Winchmore Hill down.

With their place secured with a game in hand, HSM can relax and enjoy the pressure-free last game.
(N.B. six of HSM’s players have come through their Colts section)

Bowling Figures

C. Louw 7-2-22-2
H. Dharmaraja 8-2-32-2
C. Brown 7-0-28-4
T. Hadgie 6.5-0.35.2

Harrow St Mary's 2nd XI 135-4 beat
MTSCC 2nd XI 134 ao by six wickets

HSM won the toss and put Tamils in to bat who then got off to a flyer when HSM's bowlers Keagan Wheeler's and Monty Jivraj's loose balls were punished and after four overs it was 31-0.

Wheeler had an appeal for LBW turned down in the fifth over and it was Jivraj who claimed the first wicket, getting Patel caught by Wheeler for 12. Wheeler struck in the ninth getting Raithala caught for nought and it was now 39 for two.

Opener Jayatilara was punishing any loose balls with boundaries until he was caught for 40. After 10 overs, the score was 54 for three.

From looking like they were going to post a score of more than 200, the pace of the game then changed and the run rate fell from five an over to under three. A mis-field by Nishad Patel brought a run out and a vital catch by Gevindu Liyanage (that ball was in the air a long time!) claimed their number five for 38 off Patel.

MTSCC finished on 134 all out with HSM’s bowlers all contributing to the game.

K.Wheeler 14-3-27-3
M.Jivraj 9-0-53-2
N. Patel 13-2-29-2
H.Gunesekara 7.4-3-13-3
S. Randhawa 3-1-3-0
S. Satyam  5-1-6-1

In reply HSM got off to the worst possible start - the sort of thing normally reserved for their 1st X1 - when Gevindu Liyanage was out without scoring, playing on, and Gary Pettet was run out, also for a duck after being sent back by Sikander Randhawa and HSM were two for three. Then Wheeler was bowled for five and it was 15 for three.

Incoming batsman Subhash Satyam, knowing that only less than three runs an over were needed, then settled down to pick off the bad balls with Randhawa. Needing only 11 to win, Randhawa was stumped on 53 having put on a partnership of 109. With 13 overs left and wickets also in hand, Satyam was dropped by first slip and when Rohan Baminiya saw that only six was needed, he got them in style with a six to long on.

This takes HSM to the top of the table and a win next week against Birkbeck College will give them the elusive title that they've missed out on for the last three years. It’s in their hands.

Sat 3rd X1 v Teddington-Teddington win by 12 runs

Teddington 3rd XI 73 all out (40.2 overs) beat
Harrow St Mary's 3rd XI 61 all out (30 overs)

A win for HSM would see them win the Division one title and they won the toss and Teddington were put in to bat on a wicket that, from early on, the batsmen were having trouble with. Added to that was the slow pace of veterans Steve Murphy and Raj Patel who took seven wickets between them to have Teddington out for 73.

It seemed that HSM were also going to have trouble batting and when Shivan Chauhan was out LBW for two, followed by Darren Bourke (3), Amar Patel (3) it was down to Andy Dobbin to try to settle things down. Sadly, he was running out of partners and with only 13 needed for the win, when no 11 Steve Murphy tried to paddle one round his legs he was bowled.

This brought on the prospect of HSM going to Hampstead on the last game of the season with them both battling it out for the title if Hampstead had won against Ealing. Then the results came in and Hampstead had lost and with one game to go HSM were Division One champions.

So, a good Saturday by all teams: the 1sts secure their place in Division Two, the 2s have one more game to chance to become Middlesex Championship Champions and the 3s are champions.

Sun 1st XI v Edmonton-win for HSM

Batting first, Edmonton claimed an early wicket with the second ball of the innings but this then brought in Sam Blennerhassett who quietened down Edmonton's players hitting 50 off 54.

Gary Pettet was bowled on 25 and after 20 overs HSM were 113 for two. Blennerhassett survived the ball hitting his wicket (but the bail wasn’t dislodged) and he went on to score 153, his highest for the club.

Others to add to HSM’s 298 for six were Gary Pettet (25), Jaimit Patel (31) and Nikhil Rawal (42 not out).

In reply, the wickets were shared among them HSM’s bowlers to restrict Edmonton to 188 all out, but it was Blennerhassett who was the top man again finishing with figures of 4-0-15-3.

This secured HMS's promotion to the Chess Valley League Division Two.

2nd X1 v Abbots Langley

Harrow St Mary's 2nd XI 209-5 (Darren Bourke 65, Kathan Trivedi 47, John Tighe 34) beat
Abbots Langley 2nd XI 158 all out

© Cricket World 2014

Nominate a Performance of the Week
Become a Profiled Club