< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

HBL PSL 06: Islamabad United beat Multan Sultans in final Group Match

Islamabad United beat Multan Sultans by 4 wickets, in the final Group Match of PSL 06, at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi tonight.


Multan Sultans vs Islamabad United, Match 30, Pakistan Super League

Multan Sultans 149/10 (20 ov)

Islamabad United 150/5 (19.4 ov)

Result - Islamabad United won by 4 wickets




Match Report

Islamabad United overcame a late hiccup to defeat Multan Sultans by four wickets in the dress rehearsal for Monday’s Qualifier as 30 league matches in the HBL Pakistan Super League 6 were completed at the Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium on Sunday morning.

Multan Sultans lost 10 wickets for 56 runs as they were sent tumbling out for 149 in 20 overs after being 93 for no loss in the 10th over. Mohammad Wasim Jnr, whose opening over cost him 18 runs, came back strongly to finish with career-best figures of 4-0-31-4, including three wickets in his final over.

Pakistan all-rounder Faheem Ashraf and Australia’s wrist spinner Fawad Ahmed bagged two apiece, conceding 24 and 25 runs respectively.

For Multan Sultans, Shan Masood scored 59 from 37 balls with six fours and three sixes, while Mohammad Rizwan chipped in with a 24-ball 26 and Johnson Charles contributed a 16-ball 19.

In turn, Islamabad United achieved victory with two balls and four wickets to spare after they required four runs off the last over. Shadab Khan top scored with 35, while Hussain Talat (34), Muhammad Akhlaq (26) and Asif Ali (25) were the other notable run-getters.

Shahnawaz Dahani and Usman Qadir equally shared four wickets between them, conceding 21 and 22 runs, respectively.

The 30th match result had no bearing on the final standings with Islamabad United finishing at the top of the table with 16 points, followed by Multan Sultans, Peshawar Zalmi and Karachi Kings, who all ended with up on 10 points apiece. Lahore Qalandars with 10 points and Quetta Gladiators with four points were eliminated from the tournament.

Multan Sultans’ superior net run-rate over Peshawar Zalmi and Karachi Kings means the Southern Punjab side will take on Islamabad United in Monday’s Qualifier, which will start at 1700 UAE time (1800 PKT time).

The first Eliminator between Peshawar Zalmi and Karachi Kings will follow the Qualifier and will begin at 2200 UAE time (2300 PKT time). The second Eliminator between the loser of the Qualifier and winner of the first Eliminator will be played on Tuesday with the first ball to be bowled at 2000 UAE time (2100 PKT time).

After 30 league matches, Karachi Kings’ Babar Azam leads the batting chart with 501 runs, followed by Multan Sultans’ Mohammad Rizwan (470), Sarfaraz Ahmed of Quetta Gladiators (321), Sharjeel Khan of Karachi Kings (312) and Multan Sultans’ Sohaib Maqsood (304).

Shahnawaz Dahani of Multan Sultans is the most successful bowler with 20 wickets, followed Lahore Qalandars’ Shaheen Shah Afridi (16), Peshawar Zalmi’s Wahab Riaz (14) and Lahore Qalandars’ James Faulkner (13).

Match Stats

Islamabad United won the toss and decided to field with Multan Sultans posting 149 all out in their 20 overs. Shan Masood 59 top scored and Mohammad Wasim 4-31 was the star bowler for United.

Multan Sultans Fall of wickets: 1-93 (Shan Masood - 9.3 ov), 2-107 (Sohaib Maqsood - 11.1 ov), 3-108 (Mohammad Rizwan - 11.3 ov), 4-110 (Rilee Rossouw - 12.1 ov), 5-137 (Hammad Azam - 16.6 ov), 6-137 (Johnson Charles - 17.1 ov), 7-147 (Usman Qadir - 18.6 ov), 8-148 (Mohammad Umar - 19.2 ov), 9-149 (Blessing Muzarabani - 19.5 ov), 10-149 (Sohail Khan - 19.6 ov)


In reply, Islamabad United won by 4 wickets in the run chase, getting over the line with just 2 balls to spare. Shadab Khan 35 and Hussain Talat 34  top scored.

Islamabad United Fall of Wickets: 1-39 (Muhammad Akhlaq - 4.2 ov), 2-58 (Umar Amin - 6.5 ov), 3-92 (Shadab Khan - 11.4 ov)

Player of the Match – Mohammad Wasim Jnr (Islamabad United)


Upcoming matches:

Monday, 21 June - Qualifier (Islamabad United v Multan Sultans); Eliminator 1 (Peshawar Zalmi v Karachi Kings)

Tuesday, 22 June – Eliminator 2 (loser of Qualifier v winner of Eliminator 1)

Thursday, 24 June – Final


Playing XIs

Multan Sultans - Mohammad Rizwan(c)(wk), Shan Masood, Sohaib Maqsood, Rilee Rossouw, Johnson Charles, Hammad Azam, Usman Qadir, Blessing Muzarabani, Shahnawaz Dhani, Muhammad Umar, Sohail Khan

Islamabad United - Umar Amin, Brandon King, Muhammad Akhlaq(wk), Shadab Khan(c), Hussain Talat, Iftikhar Ahmed, Asif Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Ali Khan, Fawad Ahmed, Muhammad Wasim


Match Details


Start Time: 19:00

Toss: Islamabad United won the toss and decided to field

Venue: Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi

Officials: Aleem Dar, Rashid Riaz, Asif Yaqoob, Zameer Haider, Javed Malik

©Cricket World 2021