< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

HBL PSL 07 Match 27: Lahore Qalandars crush Islamabad United by 66 runs

Lahore Qalandars beat Islamabad United by 66 runs in HBL PSL 07 Match 27 today , at the Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore.

Match Summary

Lahore Qalandars 197/6 (20 ov)

Islamabad United 131/9 (20 ov)

Lahore Qalandars won by 66 runs.


Match Report

Harry Brook produced a sensational unbeaten century as Lahore Qalandars further consolidated their number-two spot in the HBL Pakistan Super League 7 with a crushing 66-run win over Islamabad United at the Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore on Saturday night.

The 22 year-old England batter Brook (player of the match) scored the maiden T20 century of his young career with a series of scintillating shots that brought rich entertainment for the vociferous - packed to capacity home crowd that backed the home side with incredible passion.

Brook came into bat with the Qalandars in a spot of bother at 12 for three with Phil Salt (2), Kamran Ghulam (0) and Mohammad Hafeez (2) back in the dugout inside the first 15 balls of the match.

But Brook was unfazed as he started the repair work with the leading run-getter of the tournament Fakhar Zaman (51 off 41 balls, four fours, one six). The duo added 101 runs for the fourth-wicket in a mere 63 balls. Fakhar registered his sixth 50-plus score of the season. The left-hander took his runs tally for the HBL PSL 7 to 521 before falling to Zahir Khan.

Brook reached his 100 off 48 balls and finished unbeaten on 102 (49 balls, 10 fours, five sixes) with Qalandars posting 197 for six in their 20 overs.

Faheem Ashraf who took two early wickets for United finished with three wickets for 28 in his four overs, he was the most successful United bowler in an otherwise Brook dominated Qalandars innings.

Meanwhile United’s heavy defeat has done considerable damage to their net run-rate and has provided Gladiators an outside chance of qualifying as the fourth team in the play-offs if they beat Karachi Kings tomorrow and United suffer another heavy defeat in their last group match (Peshawar Zalmi) which is also a part of the Sunday double-header.


Other performers


United had pinned their hopes on Rahmanullah Gurbaz for a quick start, the Afghanistan opener hit two fours and a six in his 20 off 11 balls before falling to Shaheen Shah Afridi. The Qalandars skipper then dismissed the other opener Mubasir Khan on the next ball as United were set on the back foot.

Liam Dawson contributed 31 off 26 balls before falling to Qalandars in-form speedster Zaman Khan. United never got going after the early hiccups and kept losing wickets at regular intervals in their mammoth chase. Danish Aziz scored an unbeaten 30 but that only helped United reduce the margin of their defeat. United finished their 20 overs at 131 for nine.

Leg-spinner Rashid Khan signed-off for the Qalandars for the HBL PSL 7 season with two wickets for 19 in four overs. Shaheen, Zaman and Haris Rauf took two wickets each. Zaman, Qalandars emerging pick for the season has now taken his wickets tally for the tournament to 15.

Player of the match Harry Brook: “It was good fun to be out there and try post a good score for the team. I have always said that I want to be a match winner and bat in the hardest situations. It is good fun, the crowd last few games has been phenomenal and it is great fun to play in front of them, these have been one of the biggest crowds I have played in front of and I have really enjoyed the experience.”

Match Stats

Lahore Qalanders- Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Philip Salt - 1.1 ov), 2-6 (Kamran Ghulam - 1.3 ov), 3-12 (Mohammad Hafeez - 2.3 ov), 4-113 (Fakhar Zaman - 12.6 ov), 5-143 (Sohail Akhtar - 15.3 ov), 6-197 (David Wiese - 19.6 ov)

Islamabad United - Fall of wickets: 1-27 (Rahmanullah Gurbaz - 2.3 ov), 2-27 (Mubasir Khan - 2.4 ov), 3-59 (Mohammad Wasim - 6.2 ov), 4-78 (Azam Khan - 10.5 ov), 5-85 (Liam Dawson - 12.2 ov), 6-100 (Asif Ali - 14.2 ov), 7-113 (Faheem Ashraf - 15.5 ov), 8-123 (Marchant de Lange - 17.4 ov), 9-131 (Waqas Maqsood - 19.5 ov)

Playing XIs

Lahore Qalandars - Philip Salt (WK), Fakhar Zaman, Kamran Ghulam, Abdullah Shafique, Harry Brook, Mohammad Hafeez, David Wiese, Shaheen Afridi, Rashid Khan, Haris Rauf, Zaman Khan

Islamabad United -  Azam Khan (WK), Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Asif Ali (C), Faheem Ashraf, Liam Dawson, Danish Aziz, Mubasir Khan, Hasan Ali, Zahir Khan, Mohammad Wasim, Waqas Maqsood

Match Details

Date - 19th February 14:30 PM

Venue - Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore, Lahore

Toss - Lahore Qalandars won the toss and elected to bat

Umpires - Rashid Riaz and Richard Illingworth

© Cricket World 2022