< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

HBL PSL 2020 Final - Karachi Kings beat Lahore Qalanders by 5 wickets

Karachi Kings beat Lahore Qalanders by 8 wickets in the HBL PSL 2020 Final, Karachi, tonight, in what turned out to be a pretty one-sided affair.

Match Score Summary

Karachi Kings 135-5 (18.4)

Lahore Qalandars 134 - 7 (20)

Result - Karachi Kings  won by 5 wickets


The significance of the PSL (Pakistan Super League) final played at National Stadium, Karachi, went far far beyond a t20 fixture between two franchised teams – Peshawar Zalmi and Quetta Gladiators – owned by entrepreneurs, Javed Afridi and Nadeem Omar, now household figures, along with the star players of the teams they represent.

A full house crowd estimated at 35,000 roaring and cheering at full throttle, created an atmosphere and buzz to a level, sadly alien at Pakistan grounds. The highlight of the closing ceremony being a typically uplifting performance by Junoon, an esteemed musical bands of the country, prior to an 8pm start under the floodlights.

The soil of Pakistan, limited to only a handful of international fixtures and no Test cricket at all since 2009, opened the door to big international figures. The presence of  9 overseas players among the 22 on show in Karachi that hosted the last eight fixtures of the tournament, leads to great optimism. The message from PM Imran Khan and two PCB chief executives - Ehsan Mani and Wasim Khan - is loud and clear to restore Pakistan’s standing as the leading cricket nation and a safe country to host international cricket.  The negativity surrounding Pakistan’s international image is being challenged by new faces at the helm of the affairs PSL5 in 2020 is odds on to have the entire tournament, played in front of home crowd.

The final contest tonight, between Peshawar Zalmi and Quetta Gladiators, became a great social event with a full house witnessing a contest between the two best sides of the tournament. The other four teams – Islamabad United, Karachi Kings, Multan Sultans and Lahore Qalandar – could not make it to the final. It was a repeat of the PSL2 2017 between Peshawar Zalmi and Quetta Gladiators.

The finance pumped into PSL by Salman Iqbal (Karachi Kings), Ali Naqvi (Islamabad United), Fawad Rana (Lahore Qalandars) and Ali Khan Tareen (Multan Sultans) - the other four franchised owners – have no doubt played a key role in establishing PSL as a world class cricketing brand. The presence of one and only, Sir Vivian Richards, an all-time great batsman of West Indies, and now Quetta’s coach and mentor, continues to inspire everyone around him.

As brand ambassadors of PSL, the role played by both Ramiz Raja and Wasim Akram, former Pakistan captains, from day 1, has been acclaimed all around. The leadership provided by Najum Sethi, the previous PCB chairman, who oversaw the launching of PSL in 2016, deserves a mention too, on this momentous day for Pakistan cricket. 

Match Summary

Lahore Qalandars won the toss and decided to bat, scoring a disappointing 134-7 off their 20 overs.

Fall of wickets: 1-68 (Tamim Iqbal - 10.1 ov), 2-69 (Fakhar Zaman - 10.4 ov), 3-70 (Mohammad Hafeez - 11.1 ov), 4-81 (Samit Patel - 13.3 ov), 5-97 (Ben Dunk - 15.4 ov), 6-110 (Sohail Akhtar - 18.1 ov), 7-118 (Muhammad Faizan - 18.5 ov)


In reply, Karachi Kings pretty much romped home in style, in the run chase, winning by 5 wickets, with 8 balls to spare. - led by Captain, Babar Azam 62* 

Fall of wickets: 1-23 (Sharjeel Khan - 3.1 ov), 2-49 (Alex Hales - 6.5 ov), 3-110 (Chadwick Walton - 15.1 ov), 4-124 (Iftikhar Ahmed - 17.1 ov), 5-124 (Sherfane Rutherford - 17.2 ov)



Karachi Kings - Babar Azam, Sharjeel Khan, Alex Hales, Chadwick Walton(wk), Imad Wasim(c), Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Amir, Sherfane Rutherford, Umaid Asif, Arshad Iqbal, Waqas Maqsood

Lahore Qalandars - Tamim Iqbal, Fakhar Zaman, Sohail Akhtar(c), Mohammad Hafeez, Ben Dunk(wk), Samit Patel, David Wiese, Muhammad Faizan, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Dilbar Hussain


Match Details


Start Time: 15:00

Toss: Lahore Qalandars won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: National Stadium, Karachi

Lahore Qalandars vs Karachi Kings | 1st Inning Highlights | Final Match 34 | HBL PSL 2020 | MB2N

Babar Azam was named Player of the HBL Pakistan Super League 2020 after Karachi Kings defeated Lahore Qalandars by five wickets to win their maiden title since the inception of the PCB’s marquee event in 2016.

Babar finished the tournament with 473 runs, including three player of the match awards, that also helped him to win the award for Best batsman of the HBL PSL 2020 award.

Babar is the second Karachi Kings’ player to win the prestigious award after Ravi Bopara was declared Player of the HBL PSL 2016 after aggregating 329 runs and taking 11 wickets.

Babar’s Pakistan team-mate Shaheen Shah Afridi won the Best bowler of the HBL PSL 2020. He took 17 wickets, at a strike-rate of 16.4 and economy-rate of 7.11.

Shaheen’s Lahore Qalandars’ team-mate Ben Dunk lifted the award for Best wicketkeeper of HBL PSL 2020 after accounting for nine batsmen behind the wickets.

Haider Ali was declared the Emerging Player of the HBL PSL 2020. The 20-year-old justified his category by first making an impression in the first half of the tournament that earned him a Pakistan call-up before finishing the competition with 239 runs at a strike-rate of 157.23.

Fakhar Zaman was named as the Best Fielder of the HBL PSL 2020 when his fitness and agility not only helped him to save critical runs and create run-out opportunities, but also finished with 10 catches.



Player of the tournament

Babar Azam (Karachi Kings)

Best bowler of the tournament

Shaheen Shah Afridi (Lahore Qalandars)

Best batsman of the tournament

Babar Azam (Karachi Kings)

Best wicketkeeper of the tournament

Ben Dunk (Lahore Qalandars)

Best fielder of the tournament

Fakhar Zaman (Lahore Qalandars)

Emerging player of the tournament

Haider Ali (Peshawar Zalmi)

©Cricket World 2020