Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

PSL 2020 draft - players retained and released by the six sides

PSL 2020 draft
PSL 2020 draft

Almost all the key members of the Pakistan T20I cricket team have been retained by their respective franchisees for the HBL Pakistan Super League 2020 prior to the Player Draft 2019, which will take place on 6 December.

Pakistan’s T20I captain and world’s No.1 ranked batsman Babar Azam heads the retention list for Karachi Kings. He is joined by fast bowler Mohammad Amir, middle-order batsman Iftikhar Ahmed and all-rounder Imad Wasim.

Reigning champions Quetta Gladiators have kept faith in Sarfaraz Ahmed along with Mohammad Hasnain. The Gladiators have also withheld Shane Watson, player of HBL PSL 2019, besides Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Akmal, Mohammad Nawaz and Naseem Shah.

Islamabad United, champions in 2016 and 2018, have retained leg-spin all-rounder Shadab Khan, Asif Ali and Musa Khan along with New Zealand’s Luke Ronchi, player of HBL PSL 2018.

Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez and Shaheen Afridi will once again be in Lahore Qalandars’ colours along with South Africa’s David Wiese, Haris Rauf, Sohail Akhtar and Salman Butt.

Shahid Afridi has been retained by Multan Sultans, while their current Pakistan T20I player is Mohammad Irfan. The side has also retained England’s James Vince, opener Shan Masood and fast bowler Junaid Khan.

Peshawar Zalmi, winners in 2017, have retained Hasan Ali, Wahab Riaz, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Akmal and Umar Amin along with the Windies duo of Daren Sammy and Kieron Pollard.

Some of the most prominent names to be released are:

 Alex Hales, Ian Bell, Mohammad Sami, Sahibzada Farhan (all Islamabad United), Colin Ingram, Mohammad Rizwan, Ravi Bopara (all Karachi Kings),  Brendan Taylor, Carlos Brathwaite, Haris Sohail, Sandeep Lamichhane, Yasir Shah (all Lahore Qalandars), Dan Christian, Hammad Azam, Joe Denly, Nicholas Pooran, Shoaib Malik (all Multan Sultans), Andre Fletcher, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Lendl Simmons, Tymal Mills (all Peshawar Zalmi) and Anwar Ali, Dwayne Bravo, Dwayne Smith, Rilee Rossouw and Sohail Tanvir (all Quetta Gladiators).

Complete list of players retained and released (each side was eligible to retain up to eight players):

Islamabad United

Players retained – Shadab Khan (Platinum), Faheem Ashraf (Diamond as Brand Ambassador), Asif Ali (Diamond), Luke Ronchi (Gold as Player Mentor), Hussain Talat (Gold), Amad Butt, Musa Khan and Rizwan Hussain (Silver)

Players released - Alex Hales, Cameron Delport, Chadwick Walton, Ian Bell, Mohammad Sami, Nasir Nawaz, Philip Salt, Rumman Raees, Sahibzada Farhan, Samit Patel, Waqas Maqsood, Wayne Parnell, Zafar Gohar and Zahir Khan


Karachi Kings

Players retained - Babar Azam, Mohammad Amir (both Platinum), Imad Wasim (Diamond as Brand Ambassador), Iftikhar Ahmed (Diamond), Aamir Yamin (Gold), Usama Mir (Silver) and Umer Khan (Emerging)


Players released - Aaron Summers, Abrar Ahmed, Ali Imran, Awais Zia, Ben Dunk, Colin Ingram, Colin Munro, Jaahid Ali, Liam Livingstone, Mohammad Rizwan, Ravi Bopara, Sikandar Raza, Sohail Khan and Usman Shinwari (transferred to Lahore Qalandars)


Lahore Qalandars

Players retained - Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez (both Platinum), Shaheen Shah Afridi (Diamond as Brand Ambassador), David Wiese, Usman Shinwari (Diamond, Usman transferred from Karachi Kings), Haris Rauf, Sohail Akhtar (both Gold), Salman Butt (Silver).

Players released - AB de Villiers (not available in 2020), Agha Salman, Aizaz Cheema, Anton Devcich, Asela Gunaratne, Brendan Taylor, Carlos Brathwaite, Corey Anderson (not available in 2020), Gohar Ali, Hardus Viljoen, Haris Sohail, Hassan Khan, Mohammad Imran, Rahat Ali, Riki Wessels, Ryan ten Doeschate (not available in 2020), Saad Ali, Sandeep Lamichhane, Umair Masood, Yasir Shah


Multan Sultans

Players retained – Mohammad Irfan (Platinum), Shahid Afridi (Diamond as Player Mentor), James Vince (Gold as Brand Ambassador), Junaid Khan (Gold), Ali Shafiq, Shan Masood (both Silver) and Mohammad Ilyas (Emerging)

Players released - Andre Russell (not available in 2020), Chris Green, Dan Christian, Hammad Azam, Joe Denly, Johnson Charles, Laurie Evans, M. Irfan Khan, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Junaid, Nicholas Pooran, Numan Ali, Qais Ahmed, Shakeel Ansar, Shoaib Malik, Steve Smith (not available in 2020), Tom Moores and Umar Siddiq


Peshawar Zalmi

Players retained – Hasan Ali, Kieron Pollard, Wahab Riaz (all Platinum), Kamran Akmal (Diamond as Brand Ambassador), Daren Sammy (Gold as Player Mentor), Imam-ul-Haq (Gold) and Umar Amin (Silver)

Players released - Andre Fletcher, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Ibtesam Sheikh, Jamal Anwar, Khalid Usman, Lendl Simmons, Liam Dawson, Misbah-ul-Haq (not available in 2020), Nabi Gul, Sameen Gul, Samiullah, Sohaib Maqsood, Tymal Mills, Umaid Asif, Waqar Salamkheil and Wayne Madsen


Quetta Gladiators

Players retained – Mohammad Nawaz, Sarfaraz Ahmed (both Platinum), Shane Watson (Diamond as Player Mentor), Ahmed Shehzad (Diamond), Umar Akmal (Gold as Brand Ambassador),  Mohammad Hasnain (Gold), Ahsan Ali and Naseem Shah (Silver)

Players released - Anwar Ali, Danish Aziz, Dwayne Bravo, Dwayne Smith, Fawad Ahmed, Ghulam Mudassar, Harry Gurney, Jalat Khan, Max Waller, Mohammad Asghar, Mohammad Azam Khan, Mohammad Irfan Jr, Rilee Rossouw, Saud Shakil and Sohail Tanvir

14th February Thursday Islamabad United VS Lahore Qalandars Pakistan
15th February Friday Multan Sultans Vs Karachi Kings Venue Will Be Updated
15th February Friday Peshawar Zalmi Vs Quetta Gladiators
16th February Saturday Islamabad United VS Multan Sultans
16th February Saturday Lahore Qalandars Vs Karachi Kings
17th February Sunday Islamabad United Vs Quetta Gladiators
17th February Sunday Peshawar Zalmi Vs Lahore Qalandars
20th February Wednesday Quetta Gldiators Vs Multan Sultans
21st February Thursday Peshawar Zalmi Vs Karachi Kings
22nd February Friday Multan Sultans Vs Lahore Qalandars
23rd February Saturday Quetta Gladiators Vs Lahore Qalandars
23rd February Saturday Islamabad United V Karachi Kings
24th February Sunday Multan Sultans v Peshawar Zalmi
24th February Sunday Quetta Gladiators V Karachi Kings
26th February Tuesday Multan Sultans V Islamabad United
27th February Wednesday Lahore Qalandars V Quetta Gladiators
27th February Wednesday Islamabad United VS Multan Sultans
28th February Thursday Multan Sultans Vs Pehwar Zalmi
28th February Thursday Karachi Kings V Lahore Qalandars
1st March Friday Peshwar Zalmi Vs Islamabad United
1st March Friday Multan Sultans V Quetta Gladiators
4th March Monday Quetta Gldaitors V Peshawar Zalmi
4th March Monday Karachi Kings V Multan Sultans
5th March Tuesday Lahore Qalandars V Islamabad United
5th March Tuesday Quetta Gladiators V Islamabad United
7th March Thursday Karachi Kings V Peshawar Zalmi
9th March Saturday Lahore Qalandars V Islamabad United
10th March Sunday Karachi Kings V Quetta Gladiators
10th March Sunday Lahore Qalandars V Multan Sultans Lahore
12th March Tuesday Eliminator 1, 3 v 4 Lahore
13th March Wednesday Quailifer 1, 3 V 4 Karachi
15th March Friday Eliminator 2 Karachi
17th March Sunday Final Karachi