< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Heartbreak for Zimbabwe as they miss on World Cup qualification by a narrow margin

Rohan Mustafa (left) gives a send off to Sean Williams
Rohan Mustafa (left) gives a send off to Sean Williams

United Arab Emirates 235-7 (Shahzad 59) beat
Zimbabwe 226-7 (Williams 80) by three runs DLS method
8th Match, Super Sixes, ICC World Cup Qualifiers, Harare

Zimbabwe's chances of featuring in the 2019 World Cup is all but over after they suffered a three-run defeat by DLS method against United Arab Emirates in the eighth game of the Super Sixes in Harare.

Zimbabwe with five points now are out of the tournament and the winner of Ireland and Afghanistan in the final game of the round will join Windies in the final and the qualification for the showpiece event in Japan.

After rain interrupted play when UAE were 235 for seven in 47.5 overs, Zimbabwe came to bat with a revised target of 230 runs from 40 overs.

The hosts were dented early blows when Mohammad Naveed (3-40) accounted for both Solomon Mire (6) and Hamilton Masakadza (7). Peter Moor (39) and Brendan Taylor (15) consolidated a bit for a 27-run stand before Ahmed Raza (1-37) castled the latter.

With Zimbabwe reeling 45 for three, Sean Williams (80) brought the 50-run stand with Moor in the 24th over and the runs started to come more freely for the hosts with the duo in charge. Williams completed his 27th ODI fifty but two deliveries later Moor was dismissed by Qadeer Ahmed (1-38).

Zimbabwe needed 104 to win off the final 12 overs and that came down to 47 off 35 deliveries but Rohan Mustafa (2-56) removed them both in successive overs. With Zimbabwe needing 25 off the final three overs, despite efforts from Craig Ervine (22 not out), they fell three runs short of the target.

Earlier, Mustafa (31), Ghulam Shabber (40), Rameez Shahzad (59) and Shaiman Anwar (33) were the major contributors in the for UAE but Raza (3-41) and Tendai Chatara (2-49) restricted them to 235 for seven in the 48th over when rain arrived allowing no further play in the innings possible.

© Cricket World 2018