Heat Confirm Squads for important clash with Melbourne

Chris Lynn (c)
Chris Lynn (c)
©Brisbane Heat
Kirby Short (c)
Kirby Short (c)
©Brisbane Heat

The Brisbane Heat has recalled batsman Alex Ross for tomorrow night’s important KFC Big Bash League clash with the Melbourne Renegades at the Gabba.

Ross replaces Test batsman Marnus Labuschagne in the 13-man squad in the only change to the line-up that beat the Sydney Thunder last night by 15 runs on DLS in a rain-affected match at Spotless Stadium in Sydney.

The Heat have recorded back-to-back wins on the road this week, accounting for the Perth Scorchers in Perth and the Thunder last night.

Half centuries to batting trumps Brendon McCullum and Chris Lynn and another strong knock at the top of the order from Max Bryant helped the Heat to their highest score so far in the tournament, withstanding a late innings collapse to finish with 8-186.

The Heat club return to the Gabba for the first time in the New Year, with the third-placed WBBL Brisbane Heat looking to confirm a Finals berth tomorrow against the Melbourne Stars in the first game of the double-header at the venue.

The WBBL Heat have two more matches before the Semi-Finals, taking on the Stars and then competition leaders Sydney Thunder in Cairns on the weekend.

The WBBL Heat have named an unchanged squad for the Stars match, with seamer Haidee Birkett making her return after illness forced her out of Sunday’s loss to the Melbourne Renegades at Great Barrier Reef Arena in Mackay.

The WBBL match starts at 12.50pm.


KFC Big Bash League

Brisbane Heat v Melbourne Renegades, the Gabba

Tomorrow, 6.15pm Qld time

Live coverage on Seven & FOX Cricket


50. Chris Lynn (c)

17. Max Bryant

15. Joe Burns

31. Ben Cutting

35. Brendan Doggett

2. Josh Lalor

42. Brendon McCullum (Int)

19. James Pattinson

59. James Peirson

77. Matt Renshaw

49 Alex Ross

4. Mitchell Swepson

88. Mujeeb Ur Rahman (Int)


Rebel Women’s Big Bash League

Brisbane Heat v Melbourne Stars

Tomorrow, 12.50pm

Live coverage on Seven & FOX Cricket.


10. Kirby Short (c)

15. Jemma Barsby

23. Haidee Birkett

3. Josie Dooley

17. Grace Harris

4. Laura Harris

58. Sammy-Jo Johnson

21. Jess Jonassen

11. Delissa Kimmince

96. Sune Luus (Int)

6. Beth Mooney

16. Georgia Prestwidge

14 Laura Wolvaardt (Int)

Coach: Peter McGiffin

Asst coach: Scott Prestwidge