< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Hero CPL 2021: TKR beat Kings at Warner Park

Trinbago Knight Riders moved up to second in the 2021 Hero Caribbean Premier League (CPL) table with a 27 run victory over the Saint Lucia Kings. 

Match Summary

Trinbago Knight Riders 158/7 (Pollard 41, Seifert 37; Rampaul 3/34, Udana 2/32) beat Saint Lucia Kings 131/7 (Fletcher 81*, Du Plessis 15; Williams 4/24, Joseph 1/23) by 27 runs


The Kings won the toss and opted to field first and for the first half of the TKR innings they had full control of the game. However, a late salvo from Kieron Pollard and Tim Seifert helped the Knight Riders to post a challenging total. 


In reply Andre Fletcher played a fine lone hand for the Kings but the team never got going as a disciplined Trinbago bowling attack kept a firm stranglehold on proceedings throughout.

The Knight Riders opened their innings with the familiar pair of Lendl Simmons and Sunil Narine and they put on a partnership of 23 from 18 balls before Wahab Riaz trapped the former plumb in front. 

It took the introduction of Tim Seifert for the Knight Riders innings to gain impetus after Tion Webster, Narine and Colin Munro had all fallen in consecutive overs.

Along with Kieron Pollard the pair put on 78 runs from 44 balls to help post a competitive total.

Just like the TKR innings, the Kings struggled to find any momentum in the first half of their reply amidst some exceptional and parsimonious bowling from Sunil Narine and Akeal Hosein that left them needing an unlikely 82 runs from 36 balls.

Despite Andre Fletcher’s unbeaten 81 from 55 balls, three wickets by the tournament’s top wicket taker Ravi Rampaul ensured no one was able to stick with him to chase down the TKR total.

Fall of wickets: 

Trinbago Knight Riders: 1-23 (Lendl Simmons - 2.6 ov), 2-61 (Tion Webster - 9.2 ov), 3-66 (Sunil Narine - 10.4 ov), 4-68 (Colin Munro - 11.5 ov), 5-146 (Kieron Pollard - 19.1 ov), 6-150 (Tim Seifert - 19.3 ov), 7-158 (Denesh Ramdin - 19.6 ov)

Fall of wickets: 

St Lucia Kings: 1-14 (Rahkeem Cornwall - 2.1 ov), 2-54 (Faf du Plessis - 9.3 ov), 3-55 (Roston Chase - 10.6 ov), 4-77 (Mark Deyal - 14.1 ov), 5-77 (Tim David - 14.2 ov), 6-98 (Samit Patel - 16.2 ov), 7-104 (Keemo Paul - 17.3 ov)


St Lucia Kings - Rahkeem Cornwall, Andre Fletcher, Kesrick Williams, Obed McCoy, Mark Deyal, Roston Chase, Javelle Glen, Keron Cottoy, Jeavor Royal, Kadeem Alleyne, Alzarri Joseph, Faf du Plessis (c), Samit Patel, Wahab Riaz, Usman Qadir

Trinbago Knight Riders - Kieron Pollard (c), Denesh Ramdin, Sunil Narine, Darren Bravo, Lendl Simmons, Khary Pierre, Anderson Phillip, Tion Webster, Akeal Hosein, Jayden Seales, Ali Khan, Ravi Rampaul, Leonardo Julien, Isuru Udana, Yasir Shah, Colin Munro