< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Hetmyer, Hope tons power West Indies to 8-wicket victory against India in 1st ODI

After a 200 + run partnership with Hope, by the time Hetmyer was dismissed for 139, the game was pretty much done and dusted.

India 287-8 (50 Overs; Pant(wk)71(69), Shreyas Iyer70(88); Cottrell2/46, Alzarri Joseph2/45(

Indies 291-2 (47.5 Overs; Hetmyer139(106), Shai Hope(wk)102(151); Chahar1/48, Shami1/57)

Result- West Indies won by 8 wickets

Full Scorecard

Kieron Pollard won the toss in Chennai and decided to bowl on a slow wicket. It did raise a few eyebrows but as it turned out, it was the correct decision.

Batting first, Indian openers Rohit Sharma and Lokesh Rahul struggled to time the ball because of the slow nature of the wicket. It was also credit to West Indies new-ball bowlers Sheldon Cottrell and Jason Holder who gauged the nature of the pitch very quickly and made great use of cutters and slower ones.

India were down at 24-2 at one point and then at 80-3 but a good partnership between Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant and a 40-run cameo from Kedar Jadhav ensured that the team reached a total of 287, which seemed above par at that time.

However, as the game progressed, the pitch kept getting better and better. After India dismissed opener Sunil Ambris early, Shai Hope and Shimron Hetmyer went on to have a 200 + run partnership. By the time, Hetmyer was dismissed for 139, the game was pretty much done and dusted.

Nicholas Pooran applied the finishing touches as Hope also completed his century and helped the team win by 8 wickets with more than 2 overs remaining.

Kuldeep Yadav was economical, without much luck, but there was not much else to write home about the Indian bowlers.

India - Lokesh Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Kedar Jadhav, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami

West Indies - Shai Hope, Sunil Ambris, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicholas Pooran, Roston Chase, Kieron Pollard, Jason Holder, Keemo Paul, Hayden Walsh, Alzarri Joseph, Sheldon Cottrell

©Cricket World 2019