< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Hobart Hurricanes overturn Melbourne Renegades by 7 wickets in BBL at Blundstone Arena, Hobart

Aaron Finch (Melbourne Renegades) on the losing side today against Hobart Hurricanes

Hobart Hurricanes overturned the  Melbourne Renegades by 7 wickets in the 11th match of the BBL 2019/20, at Blundstone Arena, Hobart today.


Match Summary

Hobart Hurricanes 148 – 3 (19.1 Ovs) – (D'Arcy Short 60*, Ben McDermott 51*; Tom Cooper 2-32)

Melbourne Renegades 147 (19.1 Ovs) – (Aaron Finch 50,  Shaun Marsh 37; James Faulkner 3-26, Nathan Ellis 3-15, Riley Meredith 3-26)

Result - Hobart Hurricanes won by 7 wickets


Melbourne Renegades won the toss and decided to bat against Hobart Hurricanes but were bowled out by the Hurricanes for 147 in 19.1 Overs –  Aaron Finch 50 and  Shaun Marsh 37 top scored and while they were batting, it looked like a big total was possible for the visitors; however, James Faulkner 3-26, Nathan Ellis 3-15 and Riley Meredith 3-26 had other ideas and reduced the Renegades to 147 all out with 5 balls left of their 20 overs.

In reply, Hobart Hurricanes had a measured run chase, despite losing two wickets off successive deliveries - Caleb Jewell and Simon Milenko, both for nought - in the powerplay off Tom Cooper (2-32) However, D'Arcy Short 60*, Ben McDermott 51*steadied the innings and took the Hurricanes to a convincing win by 7 wickets with 5 balls to spare.

Riley Meredith (3-26) for the Hobart Hurricanes was adjudged Player of the Match.

Match Details


Hobart Hurricanes - D'Arcy Short, Caleb Jewell, Ben McDermott(c)(wk), David Miller, George Bailey, Simon Milenko, James Faulkner, Nathan Ellis, Clive Rose, Qais Ahmad, Riley Meredith

Melbourne Renegades - Aaron Finch(c), Sam Harper(wk), Marcus Harris, Shaun Marsh, Beau Webster, Tom Cooper, Daniel Christian, Cameron Boyce, Kane Richardson, Richard Gleeson, Harry Gurney

Start Time: 03:45

Toss: Melbourne Renegades won the toss and decided to bat

Venue: Blundstone Arena, Hobart

Officials: Sam Nogajski, Michael Graham-Smith, Simon Fry, Muhammad Qureshi, Stephen Bernard


©Cricket World 2019