< >
Cricket Betting us

Hobart Hurricanes resist Buttler heroics to open their account in Big Bash League

Jos Buttler scored a fluent 81 run knock
Jos Buttler scored a fluent 81 run knock

Hobart Hurricanes 189-3 (Short 97) beat
Sydney Thunder 180-8 (Buttler 81) by 9 runs
13th game, Big Bash League, Sydney

A 43-ball 81 run knock from Jos Buttler went in vain as Sydney Thunder succumbed to a nine-run defeat while chasing 181 runs against Sydney Thunder in the 13th game of the Big Bash League at Sydney Showground Stadium.

Earlier, it was D'Arcy Short (97), who tormented the Sydney Thunder bowlers with his 63-ball knock as he plundered nine boundaries and four sixes after the early loss of Alex Doolan (5).

With Matthew Wade (27) promoted to number three, he and Short added 58 runs for the second wicket to lay a solid platform to the Hurricanes innings.

Short reached his fifty off 36 deliveries and went severe on Shane Watson (1-35) hitting him for three boundaries and a six in the 13th over. Ben McDermott (49 not out) played a handy 25-ball knock in the end as Sydney Thunder bowlers looked clueless.

With just three runs needed to complete a century, Short was dismissed in the penultimate delivery when he aimed a slog at deep mid-wicket. Hobart Hurricanes ended their innings with a score of 189 for three in the 20 overs.

In the chase, Kurtis Patterson (36) and Watson (36) got off to a decent start but it was Buttler (81), who kept them in the hunt amid wickets falling at the other end.

At the halfway mark, Sydney Thunder were placed 87 for one but double strike from Cameron Boyce (2-14) pegged them back. They were left with 52 runs to get off the final four overs.

Even though Buttler struck three boundaries and a six to bring down the target to 23 off the final over, he was run out of the first delivery off the final over trying to sneak a bye in a bid to get back on strike and that pretty much closed the door for Sydney Thunder.

This was also Hurricanes' first win of the season as they moved to the sixth position while Sydney Thunder are placed fourth.

© Cricket World 2018