< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Hobart Hurricanes storm to 7 wicket win over Sydney Thunder

Matthew Wade 85 for Hobart Hurricanes today

Hobart Hurricanes won the toss and opted to bowl against Sydney Thunder, at the Blundstone Arena, Hobart today, in the BBL.

Match Summary              

Sydney Thunder 193 - 6 (Jos Buttler 89; James Faulkner 2-34, Clive Rose 2-30)

Hobart Hurricanes 196 – 3 (D'Arcy Short 58, Matthew Wade 85; Sam Rainbird 2-25)

Result - Hobart Hurricanes won by 7 wickets


Jos Buttler hit a fluent 89 off 54 balls (inc 8x4s and 4x6s) to help Sydney Thunder to 193 – 6, in their allotted overs. James Faulkner 2-34 and Clive Rose 2-30 were the pick of the Hobart Hurricanes bowlers.

In reply, D'Arcy Short 58 and skipper Matthew Wade 85 got the Hurricanes off to a flyer, hitting 120 off 12 overs, before D'Arcy Short was run out. There was no stopping them from that platform and despite some good bowling from Sydney Thunder’s Sam Rainbird 2-25, they were unable to contain George Bailey 23*, at the end, and Hobart Hurricanes won by 7 wickets, in the last over.


Follow all the latest score updates, results and stats from all the BBL 08 matches here


Hobart Hurricanes - D'Arcy Short, Matthew Wade(c)(wk), Alex Doolan, Ben McDermott, George Bailey, Simon Milenko, James Faulkner, Johan Botha, Jofra Archer, Clive Rose, Riley Meredith

Sydney Thunder - Shane Watson(c), Jos Buttler(wk), Callum Ferguson, Joe Root, Jason Sangha, Daniel Sams, Nathan McAndrew, Chris Green, Sam Rainbird, Jono Cook, Fawad Ahmed

©Cricket World 2018