< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL 2021/22 Hobart Hurricanes vs Melbourne Renegades: Hurricanes edge out Renegades in close one

Hobart Hurricanes vs Melbourne Renegades
Hobart Hurricanes vs Melbourne Renegades

In a close fought affair Hobart Hurricanes led by a Matthew Wade knock managed to edge out a 6 run win against Melbourne Renegades today at the Bellerive Oval, Hobart.

Match Summary

Hobart Hurricanes vs Melbourne Renegades, 54th Match, Big Bash League

Hobart Hurricanes 182/5 (20 ov)

Melbourne Renegades 176/6 (20 ov)

Result - Hobart Hurricanes won by 6 runs.


Hobart Hurricanes won the toss and elected to bat, Caleb Jewell (35) starting well before Josh Lalor (2/37) and Cameron Boyce (2/37) took over proceedings.

Hurricanes openers had back up though, Matthew Wade (48) and D'Arcy Short (37) adding some big runs to get Hurricanes to an impressive 182/5.

In response Renegades rose to the challenge with James Seymour (24), Aaron Finch (75) and Shaun Marsh (51) all adding big runs.

Unfortunately that wasn't quite enough as Tom Rogers (3/35) took some important wickets to see Hobart Hurricanes to a 6 run win.

Match Stats

Hobart Hurricanes Fall of wickets: 1-12 (Ben McDermott - 2.2 ov), 2-79 (Caleb Jewell - 10.5 ov), 3-96 (Matthew Wade - 13.2 ov), 4-119 (Jordan Thompson - 15.3 ov), 5-170 (D'Arcy Short - 19.1 ov)

Melbourne Renegades Fall of wickets: 1-37 (James Seymour - 3.2 ov), 2-138 (Shaun Marsh - 14.5 ov), 3-161 (Unmukt Chand - 17.4 ov), 4-166 (Aaron Finch - 18.4 ov), 5-166 (Jonathan Merlo - 18.5 ov), 6-176 (Will Sutherland - 19.6 ov)

Playing XI

HOBART HURRICANES - Ben McDermott (WK), Josh Kann, Matthew Wade (C), D'Arcy Short, Tim David, Caleb Jewell, Peter Handscomb, Jordan Thompson, Tom Rogers, Riley Meredith, Sandeep Lamichhane, Wil Parker, Mitchell Owen

MELBOURNE RENEGADES - Aaron Finch (C), James Seymour, Shaun Marsh, Unmukt Chand, Jonathan Merlo, Sam Harper (WK), Will Sutherland, Cameron Boyce, Zak Evans, Josh Lalor, Zahir Khan, Mitchell Perry, Brayden Stepien

Match Details

Date - 18th January, 08:15 AM

Venue - Bellerive Oval, Hobart

Toss - Hobart Hurricanes won the toss & elected to bat

Umpires - Shawn Craig, Tony Wilds

© Cricket World 2022