< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

BBL 2021/22: Mitchell Marsh century sees Perth Scorchers to victory

Perth Scorchers Mitchell Marsh
Perth Scorchers Mitchell Marsh

Mitchell Marsh's century made things look fairly comfortable for Perth Scorchers, backed up by Tymal Mills and the other Scorcher bowlers skittling Hobart Hurricanes and winning by 53 runs today at the Bellerive Oval, Hobart.

Match Summary

Hobart Hurricanes vs Perth Scorchers, 12th Match, Big Bash League

Hobart Hurricanes 129/10 (19 ov)

Perth Scorchers 182/5 (20 ov)

Result - Perth Scorchers won by 53 runs.


Perth Scorchers won the toss and elected to bat first, which started rocky, both openers going for 13 runs.

Mitchell Marsh entered the fray though and became the 28th player in BBL history to score a century in just 60 balls. Laurie Evans added 40 later in the innings and Perth Scorchers finished on an unbelievable 182/5.

In response D'Arcy Short (31) and Ben McDermott (41) added some runs but it wasn't enough. Tymal Mills (3/23) and the other Scorcher bowlers made sure it was never a close contest bowling them all out for 129.

Match Stats

Perth Scorchers Fall of wickets: 1-3 (Colin Munro - 0.4 ov), 2-33 (Kurtis Patterson - 3.4 ov), 3-40 (Josh Inglis - 5.1 ov), 4-74 (Ashton Turner - 9.4 ov), 5-141 (Laurie Evans - 17.1 ov)

Hobart Hurricanes Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Matthew Wade - 0.5 ov), 2-7 (Caleb Jewell - 1.2 ov), 3-76 (Ben McDermott - 9.5 ov), 4-79 (Harry Brook - 10.5 ov), 5-82 (Peter Handscomb - 11.4 ov), 6-86 (D'Arcy Short - 12.4 ov), 7-88 (Nathan Ellis - 13.1 ov), 8-106 (Tim David - 14.6 ov), 9-114 (Scott Boland - 16.4 ov), 10-129 (Joel Paris - 18.6 ov)

Playing XIs

HOBART HURRICANES - Matthew Wade (WK/C), D'Arcy Short, Ben McDermott, Harry Brook, Caleb Jewell, Peter Handscomb, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Joel Paris, Scott Boland, Sandeep Lamichhane, Thomas Rogers, Jordan Thompson

PERTH SCORCHERS - Colin Munro, Kurtis Patterson, Mitchell Marsh, Josh Inglis (WK), Ashton Turner (C), Laurie Evans, Ashton Agar, Andrew Tye, Jason Behrendorff, Peter Hatzoglou, Tymal Mills, Aaron Hardie, Matthew Kelly

Match Details

Date: 14th December, 08:15 AM

Venue: Bellerive Oval, Hobart, Hobart

Toss: Perth Scorchers won the toss & elected to bat

Umpires: Donovan Marius Koch, Gerard Abood

© Cricket World 2021