< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Hosts Oman stun Ireland with 43-run win in pentangular series

Oman Team
Oman Team
©Oman cricket
Oman v Ireland
Oman v Ireland
©Cricket Ireland

In an attempt to accelerate, Ireland were bundled out for 130 in the 17th over as Mohammad Nadeem and Khawar Ali picked up three wickets each for Oman.


Ireland Men v Oman Men, T20 International, Al Amerat Cricket Ground in Muscat, 6 October 2019

Oman 172-9 (20 overs; A Kaleem 46; S Thompson 2-21, M Adair 2-28)

Ireland 130 (16.2 overs; K O’Brien 39; M Nadeem 3-14)

Ireland won the toss and invited Oman to bat first. The hosts got off to a horrible start with opener Khawar Ali getting dismissed for a duck on the third ball. Jatinder Singh and Aqib Ilyas then had a small partnership.

Singh and Aamir Kaleem were the top-scorers for Oman, scoring 40 and 46 respectively. With a few lusty blows towards the end, Oman succeeded in putting up 173 runs on the board, which was always going to be a stiff target for Ireland.

Mark Adair and Stuart Thompson were the pick of the bowlers for Ireland and bagged two wickets each.

To chase down the total, Ireland needed a good start but opener Paul Stirling fell in the first over itself. Kevin O'Brien and Andrew Balbirnie showed some fight but the mounting run rate prompted the following Irish batsmen to go for the big shots as they lost their wickets in turn.

Cricket Ireland Report

Ireland Men’s cricket team have fallen to a slick Oman side by 43 runs in today’s T20 International at the Al Amerat Cricket Ground in Muscat.

Ireland captain Gary Wilson won the toss and chose to bowl first, with only one change made from yesterday’s winning side – Boyd Rankin rested and Stuart Thompson coming in. The home side started poorly losing opener Khawar Ali for a duck from the third ball. Despite some big hitting from Aqib Ilyas (21) and more patient batting from Jatinder Singh (40), further early wickets fell and Oman were 42-3 in the 7th over.

An 83-run fourth wicket partnership between Singh and Aamir Kaleem (46) allowed Oman to build a defendable total, but late wickets restricted their batters and they finished on 173-9 from their 20 overs – with the 14 runs from the final four balls of the innings giving their final score a late boost. Mark Adair’s bowling threatened throughout (2-28) and Stuart Thompson’s 2-21 was his side’s most economical return.

Ireland’s response started confidently, despite the early loss of Paul Stirling (4). Kevin O’Brien’s 39 from 16 balls was looking to take the game away early from Oman, supported by Andy Balbirnie’s 19 from 13 balls, but a rash of wickets saw Ireland stumble from 54-1 to 109-8 by the end of the 13th over.

Much of the damage was done by Mohammad Nadeem who grabbed 3-14 from 4 overs through the middle overs, putting the brakes on any Irish thoughts of a late charge. A late innings of 18 from Adair only served to put respectability in his side’s score, and when the final wicket fell, Ireland were 43 runs short of Oman.

While the result brings the Irish side back to earth after yesterday’s confident win, Head Coach Graham Ford will be pleased with some patches of play – Mark Adair’s early bowling, Kevin O’Brien’s contribution at the top of the order, and the young players continuing to look comfortable playing at this level – but he will be looking for the side to take the learnings out of this match into their next two encounters against Hong Kong and Nepal. All games will be seen as providing important experience ahead of the all important ICC T20 World Cup Qualifier that starts in less than a fortnight.

Oman now go top of the series table with two wins from two, and Ireland currently sit second. Ireland’s next game is tomorrow against a Trent Johnston-coached Hong Kong side at the same venue, starting at 11am (Irish time).

Mohammad Nadeem and Khawar Ali picked up three wickets each for Oman while Bilal Khan and Aamir Kaleem snaffled two each. In an attempt to accelerate, Ireland were bundled out for 130 in the 17th over.

Oman- Khawar Ali, Jatinder Singh, Suraj Kumar, Fayyaz Butt, Zeeshan Maqsood, Khurram Nawaz, Aamir Kaleem, Aqib Ilyas, Mohammad Nadeem, Bilal Khan, Sandeep Goud

Ireland- Paul Stirling, Kevin O Brien, Andrew Balbirnie, Harry Tector, Shane Getkate, Mark Adair, Gary Wilson, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Stuart Thompson, Craig Young

© Cricket World 2019