< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

Hussey To Captain Prime Minister's XI

Mike Hussey
Mike Hussey will captain the Prime Minister's XI against England
©REUTERS / Action Images

Mike Hussey will captain the Australian Prime Minister's XI which will take on England in a one-day game at the Manuka Oval in Canberra on 14th January.

Hussey will lead a side that also includes Australian internationals Pat Cummins and Glenn Maxwell.

In the side as well will be Papua New Guinea batsman Lega Siaka, who scored a century in PNG's first ever One-Day International last year, and earned a Big Bash contract with the Melbourne Renegades.

The team has been selected by the Cricket Australia National Selection Panel with input from the Hon Tony Abbott MP.

The match will be a warm-up for England as they prepare for the One-Day International tri-series with Australia and India.

"This team is an exciting mix of emerging talent and big name players," Abbott said.

"This fixture promises to be an exciting day in what’s shaping as a memorable summer of cricket in Australia."

The NSP have given the wicket-keeping gloves to 18-year-old Jake Doran, who they recognise as "a great talent".

Prime Minister's XI: Mike Hussey (captain), Cameron Bancroft, Jason Behrendorff, Matt Condon, Pat Cummins, Jake Doran (wicket-keeper), Peter Handscomb, Simon Mackin, Glenn Maxwell, David Moody, Lega Siaka, Mac Wright (12th man)

© Cricket World 2015