Hutt District Cricket Club

Address: Lower Hutt, New Zealand

Phone: +64 4-973 4888

Website: Click Here

Since its formation in 1909 Hutt District Cricket Club has been an integral part of Wellington’s cricketing landscape. The hallowed turf of the Hutt Recreation Ground has been a home away from home for generations of children and adults from the Lower Hutt region.

Legendary New Zealand cricketer John R Reid once dubbed by Dick Whitington as “The greatest batsmen in cricket today” was a proud member of the Hutt District Cricket Club. 

Reid’s achievements include leading New Zealand to their first test match victory, captaining a Rest of the World XI against an English XI, and bludgeoning a then world record 15 sixes for Wellington against Northern Districts in 1963. Reid’s legacy is honoured by a plaque at the Hutt Recreation Ground.

Other celebrated Hutt District old boys include Peter Petherick who took a hat-trick on test debut, New Zealand wicket-keeper Artie Dick, and in more recent times BLACKCAP Chris Nevin. These cricketers have all represented Hutt District with distinction throughout their playing careers. 

The Hutt Recreation Ground is often touted as one of the best cricketing wickets in Wellington and has hosted some of the world’s finest cricketers. The year 1980 saw one of New Zealand’s greatest cricketing upsets as the Wellington provincial side defeated a West Indian team featuring Malcom Marshall, Gordon Greenidge, Michael Holding, Joel Garner and Desmond Haynes. Only weeks before that Lance Cairns had bludgeoned the Wellington attack for a record 51 ball 110. In recent years the Rec has been used as a multi sport venue hosting the iconic New Zealand All Blacks as well as the Wellington Phoenix.

Currently the Hutt District Cricket Club can lay claim to the largest junior section in the Hutt Valley and one of the largest in Wellington. With over 325 junior players and 30 sides the white and blue kit of the club can be seen scattered throughout Wellington every Saturday morning. In recent times the Wright-Perry trophy has been established allowing juniors the opportunity to travel and compete with the best cricketers the Wairarapa region has to offer.

The Hutt District Cricket Club also has a thriving senior section with the 1st XI, 2nd XI and 3rd XI competing on a weekly basis alongside three t20 sides, two college sides and two women’s teams. The 2013/14 season was one of the clubs best to date with the top side competing in the final of the Pearce Cup, Wellington’s premier club cricket competition. Furthermore the senior side suffered a narrow loss in the club t20 final. On the back of strong club performances Iain McPeake, BJ Barnett and Fraser Colson have all represented Wellington in recent seasons. The 2nd XI and Premier Women’s sides have been consistent top four finishers in their respective competitions. Rebecca Burns, Gemma Krebs and Deanna Doughty have all represented the Wellington Blaze with success.

At the midpoint of the 2014/15 season the premier men side were sixth equal and as a result narrowly missed out on Pearce Cup on net run-rate. The second half of the season has begun well with a series of convincing victories. The premier reserve side narrowly missed out on the one day final and are currently third in their respective competition. The premier women’s side has competed consistently & narrowly missed out on the one day final. At the midpoint of the season the women are placed fourth. All Hutt District sides are in promising positions and are looking to end the season strongly.