ICC admits mistake in Nathan Lyon dismissal
The International Cricket Council (ICC) has admitted that the decision of umpire Nigel Llong to give a not out verdict in favour of Australia's Nathan Lyon in the day-night Test against New Zealand at the Adelaide Oval was incorrect.
In the 54th over of Australia's first innings Lyon swept a delivery which ballooned up to second slip where Kane Williamson claimed a catch.
Despite a strong appeal from New Zealand the on-field umpire Sundaram Ravi remained unmoved prompting the Black Caps to opt for a review.
As soon as the hot spot replays showed a mark on the bottom end of the bat Lyon himself began walking towards the pavilion but was asked to wait as the snickometer failed to pick any sound.
Much to New Zealand's dismay the third umpire Llong refused to overturn the on-field call as he believed there was no conclusive evidence that indicated the 28-year-old had edged the ball.
The decision soon gave rise to a controversy which then led to New Zealand Cricket formally seeking a clarification from the ICC over the decision on Monday.
On Tuesday the ICC's official media Twitter account confirmed that umpire Llong had followed the correct protocol in reviewing the dismissal but made the wrong judgement.
Lyon then went on to score 34 more runs, helping Australia take a 22-run lead in the first innings of the third Test which they eventually won by three wickets.
(1 of 3): ICC has replied to correspondence from NZC relating to the Nathan Lyon DRS review in the 3rd Test.— ICC Media (@ICCMediaComms) December 1, 2015
(2 of 3): ICC has reviewed the decision and acknowledged that it was incorrect.— ICC Media (@ICCMediaComms) December 1, 2015
(3 of 3): ICC confirms the umpire followed the correct protocol, but made an incorrect judgment.— ICC Media (@ICCMediaComms) December 1, 2015
© Cricket World 2015