Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

ICC Announces Dates For 2015 T20 World Cup Qualifier

Jersey crowned as Pepsi ICC Europe Division 1 winners.
Jersey crowned as Pepsi ICC Europe Division 1 winners.
©International Cricket Council

The dates of the 2015 World Twenty20 Qualifier which will be hosted by Scotland and Ireland have been announced by the International Cricket Council (ICC).

The top six teams from the tournament which begins on 9th July will join the 10 full-member nations for the T20 World Cup in India next year.

The tournament comprising of 14 associate nations have been split into two groups with the teams topping each group gaining automatic qualification for the World Cup.

The second and third placed teams from each group will play crossover matches with the winners joining the table-toppers for the showpiece tournament next year.

The loser of these matches will take on the fourth-placed teams from each group in further cross-over matches to decide the final two spots.

From these series of matches, the order of the six qualifying teams will be obtained which will give their groupings for the World Cup.

Malahide in Dublin and The Grange in Edinburgh shall be the two broadcast venues for the qualifiers.

Details regarding the broadcasting and ticketing will be provided by the ICC at a later date.

Having won the title in the previous two editions, co-hosts Ireland will be targeting at a hat-trick of trophies this time.

Afghanistan won the tournament in 2010 while the trophy was shared between Ireland and Netherlands in 2009 after a washout in the final.

Fixtures for the qualifier

Warm-up matches

Mon, 6 July – Nepal v Oman, PNG v Kenya, Scotland v Namibia, Netherlands v Hong Kong

Mon, 6 July – Ireland v UAE, USA v local side, Canada v local side, Afghanistan v Jersey

Tue, 7 July  – Nepal v UAE, local team v PNG, Scotland v Jersey, local team v Netherlands

Tue, 7 July – Ireland v Oman, Kenya v USA, Canada v Namibia, Afghanistan v Hong Kong, New Williamfield

Tournament matches

Thurs, 9 July – Scotland v UAE, Netherlands v Afghanistan

Fri, 10 July – Ireland v Namibia, Canada v Kenya, Myreside, Nepal v USA, UAE v Afghanistan

Sat, 11 July – Hong Kong v Jersey, Scotland v Netherlands, Kenya v Oman, Nepal v Namibia

Sun, 12 July – Ireland v USA, PNG v Jersey, UAE v Netherlands, Canada v Oman, New Williamfield, Scotland v Afghanistan

Mon, 13 July – Namibia v USA, Hong Kong v PNG, Ireland v Nepal, Stormont, Afghanistan v Kenya

Tue, 14 July – Netherlands v Oman, UAE v Canada, New Williamfield, Scotland v Kenya

Wed, 15 July – Ireland v PNG, USA v Jersey, Afghanistan v Oman, Nepal v Hong Kong, UAE v Kenya

Thurs, 16 July – Scotland v Canada, Goldenacre, Edinburgh (1000-1310)

Fri, 17 July – Nepal v PNG, Namibia v Jersey, Netherlands v Canada, New Williamfield, Ireland v Hong Kong

Sat, 18 July – Nepal v Jersey, Scotland v Oman, Afghanistan v Canada, New Williamfield, PNG v Namibia, Hong Kong v USA, Netherlands v Kenya

Sun, 19 July – Ireland v Jersey, PNG v USA, Hong Kong v Namibia

Tue, 21 July – Qualifying Play-Off 1 (A2 v B3), Qualifying Play-Off 2 (A3 v B2)

Thurs, 23 July - Qualifying Play-Off 3 (A4 v loser Qualifying Play-Off 1, Qualifying Play-Off 4 (B4 v loser Qualifying Play-Off 2)

Sat, 25 July – Semi-final (B1 v Winner Qualifying Play-off 1), fifth/sixth position play-off (winner play-off 3 v winner play-off 4), Semi-final (A1 v Winner Qualifying Play-off 2)

Sun, 26 July – Third place play-off, Final

© Cricket World 2015