ICC announces dates for Women's World Cup 2017

Australia were the winners of the previous edition held in India
Australia were the winners of the previous edition held in India

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Sunday announced the dates for Women's World Cup 2017 to be held in England and Wales.

The tournament will kick-off from 24th June and will be played across five venues - Taunton, Bristol, Derby, Leicester and Lord's.

The 27 league games will be spread across 21 days while the two semi-finals will be played in Bristol and Derby on 18th and 20th July and the final will be played at Lord's on 23rd July.

ICC Women's World Cup 2017 tournament director Steve Elworthy said that the venues and dates have been finalised with the best intention to take the women's game forward.

"Preparations are now well under way for this summer’s tournament which we hope will push new boundaries for the women’s game.

"We have worked hard with the venues to put together a schedule that best meets the needs of the players, fans and broadcasters.

"Confirming the start date as Saturday 24 June, means we have an additional weekend of cricket and it promises to be an exciting opening weekend for everyone involved.”

Australia, England, New Zealand and West Indies have already qualified for the tournament based on their performances in the ICC Women's Championship over the last year while the remaining four teams will be finalised based on the qualifiers which will be held in Colombo from 7th February.

© Cricket World 2017