< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC Announces Team Of World Cup 2015

ICC Announces Team Of World Cup 2015
With 541 runs in just seven games at an average of 108.20, Kumar Sangakkara had a phenomenal 2015 World Cup.
©REUTERS / Action Images

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced its team of the 2015 World Cup comprising of 12 best performers in the tournament led by New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum.

While announcing the team of the tournament, ICC General Manager Geoff Allardice admitted the difficulty level of the task considering the numerous performers on view in the showpiece event.

“The panel had an extremely difficult choice of selecting a 12-member squad at the back of an outstanding tournament, highlighted by some eye-catching individual performances including two double-centuries, 38 centuries, two hat-tricks and 28 four-wicket hauls," said Allardice.

While revealing some of the players who missed out on a spot, Allardice defended the yardsticks used by the panel for selecting the team.

“There were a number of other players that were discussed as possible selections in the team.

"These included batsmen Mahmudullah (Bangladesh) and Shaiman Anwar (UAE), fast bowlers Umesh Yadav, Mohammad Shami (both India), Wahab Riaz (Pakistan) and spinners Imran Tahir (South Africa) and R.Ashwin (India).

“But there were so many brilliant individual performances during the tournament that it was not possible to fit them into the team.

ICC Team of 2015 World Cup

1. Martin Guptill (New Zealand)

2. Brendon McCullum (c) (New Zealand)

3. Kumar Sangakkara (wk) (Sri Lanka)

4. Steven Smith (Australia)

5. AB de Villiers (South Africa)

6. Glenn Maxwell Australia)

7. Corey Anderson (New Zealand)

8. Daniel Vettori (New Zealand)

9. Mitchell Starc (Australia)

10. Trent Boult (New Zealand)

11. Morne Morkel (South Africa)

12. Brendan Taylor (Zimbabwe)

"The panel eventually came up with this side, which, in their view, was the most balanced outfit that is capable of beating any side on any given day.”

The New Zealand skipper was chosen for his inspiring leadership skills that took his side to a World Cup final for the first time ever.

Apart from his aggressive captaincy, McCullum also whacked 328 runs with four fifties at a staggering strike-rate of 188.50 while opening the innings.

The top three run-scorers of the tournament – Martin Guptill, Kumar Sangakkara and AB de Villiers were picked for their prolific run-scoring and impact in the World Cup.

Top-scorer Guptill aggregated 547 runs from nine innings with two centuries that included a double hundred while Sangakkara compiled 541 runs from seven innings with four successive centuries.

While Sangakkara redefined consistency in the tournament, Guptill peaked at the right time after an ordinary start to notch up the highest individual score in World Cup history in the quarter-final against West Indies.

South African captain AB de Villiers wasn’t too far away with his unconventional stroke-making skills fetching him 482 runs from seven innings at an incredible strike-rate of 144.31.

Australia’s impact batsman Glenn Maxwell found a place in the team due to his blitzkriegs in the tournament aggregating 324 runs at a strike-rate of 182.

Fellow teammate and batting sensation Steven Smith who aggregated 402 runs from seven innings was picked for his laudable skills under pressure as he conjured two fifties and a century in the three knockout matches.

Also in the team were Australia’s Mitchell Starc and New Zealand’s Trent Boult who impressed everybody with their bowling skills in a largely batsman-dominated tournament.

Both the left-arm pacers ended the tournament with 22 wickets apiece, making them the highest wicket-takers of the World Cup.

Daniel Vettori and Corey Anderson forced their way into the team due to their vital contributions during crunch situations for New Zealand.

With 15 wickets from nine matches, Vettori snared the most wickets by a spinner in the tournament along with South Africa’s leg-spinner Imran Tahir though the former’s better bowling average and economy gave him the edge.

South African pacer Morne Morkel took the final bowling slot in the team for his 17 wickets from eight matches that included a lion-hearted performance in the semi-final against New Zealand.

Brendon Taylor who had a fabulous tournament aggregating 433 runs from six matches which was the fourth-highest tally by a batsman in the World Cup found a place as the 12th man in the squad.

© Cricket World 2015   


Bails & Badger - The Slog Sweep