< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results
Covid-19 - All You Need to Know - Useful Links and Resource Centres Around the World

ICC Committees Finalised

David Richardson
David Richardson will remain as ICC Chief Executive for another two years
©REUTERS / Action Images

The International Cricket Council (ICC) Board meeting in Melbourne has finalised the make-up of key ICC Committees including the Executive Committee while Nepal and the Netherlands have been awarded Twenty20 International status.

ICC Executive Committee

Wally Edwards (Australia, chair), Giles Clarke (England & Wales), N Srinivasan (India), Najam Sethi (Pakistan), David Cameron (West Indies), David Richardson (ICC, ex-officio)

ICC Finance & Commercial Affairs Comittee

Giles Clarke (England & Wales, chair), Wally Edwards (Australia), Namzul Hassan (Bangladesh), N Srinivasan (India), Jayash Dharmadasa (Sri Lanka), David Richardson (ICC, ex-officio)

ICC Governance Review Committee

Martin Snedden (New Zealand, chair), Nazmul Hassan (Bangladesh), Sanjay Patel (India), Imran Khawaja (Singapore), Peter Chingoka (Zimbabwe), N Srinivasan (ICC Chairman, ex-officio), David Richardson (ICC, ex-officio)

ICC Development Committee

N Srinivasan (ICC Chairman, chair), Martin Snedden (New Zealand), David Cameron (West Indies), Peter Chingoka (Zimbabwe), three Associate Member representatives, the Affiliate Members' global representative, David Richardson (ICC, ex-officio), Tim Anderson (ICC Head of Global Development, ex-officio)

Representatives from Pakistan and the West Indies have been elected to join the 'big three' of Australia, England and India on the five-member ICC Executive Committee.

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson will sit on the Executive Committee as an ex-officio member.

He will also sit on the Finance and Commercial Affairs Committee (F & CA) and the Governance Review Committee as an ex-officio member while newly-appointed ICC Chairman N Srinivasan will sit on the F & CA Committee as an ex-officio member.

After both sides qualified for the ICC World Twenty20 2014, Nepal and the Netherlands have been awarded Twenty20 International status, joining fellow Associates Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Ireland, Scotland, Papua New Guinea and the United Arab Emirates, who already have T20I status by virtue of their One-Day International status.

The board also considered a number of recommendations from the ICC Chief Executives' Committee, including recommendations to revise processes to identify playing bowling with suspected illegal bowling actions, on which the board will receive an update at its next meeting.

The following three changes have been approved and will come into force on 1st October 2014:

  • A bowler who has spent time off the field in a Test will be allowed to resume bowling after he has either spent the same period of time on the field as he spent off the field, or he has been back on the field for 30 overs, whichever occurs first.
  • A T20I innings will be scheduled to span 85 minutes, instead of 80 minutes.
  • The trial regulation allowing an 80-over top-up of unsuccessful DRS player reviews will be extended for another 12 months.

The board is also encouraged by what is calls 'significant progress' being made on the Future Tours Programme which has been extended through to 2023.

"The ICC Board noted the significant progress made on the Future Tours Programme (FTP) that has been extended through to 2023 and expressed satisfaction that there was now more certainty around long-term scheduling with a reasonable balance between home and away matches for all 10 teams as well as between the three formats," a statement from the board read.

"The ICC Board agreed with the ICC Chief Executives’ Committee (CEC) recommendation that the Members must sign all bilateral agreements through to 2023 before the next ICC meeting, which takes place in October."

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson has been awarded a new two-year contract and will remain in his position until at least the end of June 2016.

© Cricket World 2014