< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC Confirms 10-Team World Cup In 2019

Australia's World Cup trophies on display
The 2019 World Cup is expected to feature 10 teams - down from the current event's 14
©REUTERS / Action Images

The ICC Board met in Dubai on 9th and 10th November, taking a number of decisions including confirming that the World Cup 2019 in England and Wales will comprise 10 participating teams.

An original plan to run the upcoming World Cup 2015 along similar lines was scrapped following opposition from within the game.

And while there will be fewer teams involved in just under five years time, the teams playing in 2015's event will be earning more than previously.

$US 10 million dollars will be awarded in prize money from the winners ($US 3.75 million) to those who fail to progress from the group stage ($US 35,000).

World Cup By Numbers:

1975, 1979: 8 participants, 15 matches

1983, 1987: 8 participants, 27 matches

1992: 9 participants, 39 matches

1996: 12 participants, 37 matches

1999: 12 participants, 42 matches

2003: 14 participants, 54 matches

2007: 16 participants, 51 matches

2011, 2015: 14 participants, 49 matches

2019: 10 participants

Playing conditions for next year's competition, which will be co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand were also confirmed.

The Decision Review System (DRS) will be used throughout the tournament, there will be reserve days for knock-out matches but none of the group games, and if a match is tied, there will be no super overs to determine the winner.

If a quarter-final or semi-final is tied, then the side that finished in the higher position in the group stage will progress and if there is a tie or no result in the final, the trophy will be shared.

Looking ahead, the cut-off date for the ICC Champions Trophy 2017, which will also be hosted by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB), has been announced as well as the cut-off date for the World Cup 2019.

The top eight sides as per the ICC's ODI rankings on 30th September 2015 will quailfy for the Champions Trophy while the top eight on 30th September 2017 will qualify for the World Cup 2019.

The remaining two places will be given to two qualifiers. The ninth and 10th-ranked sides will play in the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier which will be held in Bangladesh in 2018.

The board approved the revised ICC Anti-Doping Code, ICC Anti-Corruption Code and Code of Ethics. The revised Anti-Corrupion Code and Code of Ethics come into effect immediately but the Anti-Doping Code, which is in line with the 2015 World Anti-Doping Code, will come into effect on 1st January 2015.

"The process for the revision of the ICC Anti-Corruption Code was exhaustive and has been based on our learning and experiences over the past few years," ICC Chairman N Srinivasan said.

"This Code is now even more robust and comprehensive and it provides clarity on jurisdictional issues, gives options to the charged Participant and offers more choices to the Anti-Corruption Tribunal.

"The revised Code makes provision for a banned player to gain an early return to domestic cricket in certain circumstances.

"When exercising his discretionary powers in this regard, however, the Chairman of the ACSU will consider a number of factors, including the level of remorse shown by the player, his/her cooperation with the ACSU’s education programme and/or if the player has helped the ACSU by disclosing all information that, in turn, has helped it to enforce the Anti-Corruption Code in respect of others engaged in corruption conduct."

This new development will give some hope to banned cricketers such as Mohammad Amir and Salman Butt, who remain banned for their part in spot-fixing while playing for Pakistan.

The ICC Board accepted the Pakistan Cricket Board's nomination of Najam Sethi, the PCB's former chairman, for the ICC Presidency.

His nomination will now be ratified by the General Council at the 2015 Annual Conference, after which he will succeed Mustafa Kamal for a 12-month period.

The board also confirmed that the eight teams that will attempt to qualify for the ICC Women's World Twenty20 2016 in India will be Bangladesh, Ireland, China, Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, Thailand and a qualifier from the Africa region.

Bangladesh, hosts Thailand, Scotland and Papua New Guinea will compete in Group A with Ireland, Netherlands, China and the qualifier set to battle it out in Group B.

The tournament will be held in 2015.

© Cricket World 2014

Points Table