< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC likely to introduce Super 12 format in 2018 World Twenty20

ICC likely to introduce Super 12 format in 2018 World Twenty20
Afghanistan's performance in the 2016 World T20 was inspiring.
©REUTERS / Action Images

The International Cricket Council is likely to employ a Super 12 format for the proposed 2018 World Twenty20 tournament by allowing two more teams to qualify from the group stages.

In the 2016 ICC World Twenty20, only one team from each of Group A and Group B qualified into the Super 10 stage of the tournament.

The chief executive of Hong Kong Cricket Association Tim Cutler revealed the development to ESPNcricinfo and said that it was the right move from the ICC.

"What I have heard described is that two teams will go through from [each] first group to create a Super 12," he said.

"That seems to be the agreed format at the moment.

“Hopefully, that means with two [more] going through, potentially two more could come into the qualifiers to make 18 but the sound of it at the moment is it's going to be 16 into 12.

“It's a move in the right direction."

The report in ESPNcricinfo added that the ICC is also considering giving the three associate representatives on the board full voting privileges.

Cutler expressed confidence that the ICC will usher in a new era of governance under the leadership of the current chairman Shashank Manohar.

"Everything we're hearing from the ICC chairman really does point towards a new era in ICC governance and the structures behind that," Cutler said.

"We talk about one man, one vote, are we going to have a 105-member federation with votes?

"Highly unlikely in the short term but if we do get to a point where the three Associate directors have a vote each, that really does shift the paradigm that was the ICC board and really moving things in the right direction where emerging nations really do have a true voice at the top table."

The above developments, along with the proposed changes to the Test and One-Day International structure, will be finalised at the ongoing ICC annual conference in Edinburgh.

© Cricket World 2016