< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier A gets underway in Oman on February 18th 2022

Ireland's Paul Stirling
Ireland's Paul Stirling

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier A gets underway in Oman from February 18th 2022 with Nepal taking on the hosts in the opener.

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier A supported by Dream XI, gets underway on 18 February in Oman with the hosts taking on Nepal in the opening game. The event is one of two global qualifiers that together form the final stages of the qualification process for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022. All twenty matches of the eight-team tournament will be streamed live on FanCode in the Indian sub-continent and on ICC.tv across the rest of the world.

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier A features hosts Oman, Bahrain, Canada, Germany, Ireland, Nepal, Philippines, and United Arab Emirates (UAE). Ireland and Oman had qualified for this tournament after being eliminated in the first round of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021, whilst Nepal and the UAE booked their slots via their rankings in the ICC MRF Tyres Men’s T20I Team rankings. The other participating teams qualified through regional qualifying tournaments held through the course of last year.

The teams in Qualifier A are divided into two groups of four. Each team?will?play?all?the other teams once?in its group,?followed by position classification matches. The two teams that reach the final will advance to the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia later this year.

Group A of the qualifier features Canada Nepal, Oman, and Philippines whilst, Group B features Bahrain, Germany, Ireland, and UAE.

The full schedule of the tournament is below:



Oman Academy 1

Oman Academy 2

Local Time


Friday, 18-Feb

Oman v Nepal

Canada v Philippines


Ireland v UAE

Germany v Bahrain



Saturday, 19-Feb

Oman v Canada

Nepal v Philippines


UAE v Germany

Ireland v Bahrain


Sunday, 20-Feb Rest Day


Monday, 21-Feb

Ireland v Germany

UAE v Bahrain


Nepal v Canada

Oman v Philippines



Tuesday, 22-Feb

A3 v B4

(3rd in group A v 4th in group  B)

B3 v A4

(3rd in group  B v 4th in group A)


Semi-Final 1

(Winner Group A v Runner Up Group B)

Semi-Final 2B1 v A2

(Winner Group B v Runner Up Group A)


Wednesday, 23-Feb Rest Day


Thursday, 24-Feb

5th and 6th Play off

(Winner of A3 v B 4 v Winner of B3 v A4

7th and 8th Play off

 (Loser of A3 v A4 v Loser of B3 v A4



(Winner of A1 v B2 v Winner of B1 v A2)

3rd and 4th Play off

(Loser of A1 v B2 v Loser of B2 v A1)



The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier B will be held from 11 – 17 July 2022 in Harare, Zimbabwe and will feature Hong Kong, Jersey, Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Singapore, Uganda, the United States of America (USA) along with hosts Zimbabwe.

ICC Head of Events, Chris Tetley said: “70 teams started the qualification process for this event, and we’ve now reached the final stages with four spots at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 set to be decided in two global qualifiers starting with this one in Oman.

“With such a prize at stake, we’re anticipating top quality and competitive cricket as the teams battle to secure their place in the final and onto the plane to Australia later this year. Thanks to Oman Cricket, who are hosting their second ICC global event following last year’s ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, for their support in planning what we trust will be another safe and successful event”.