< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC Men's Cricket World Cup League 2: Asif Khan century in vain as Nepal win

Asif Khan's fastest-ever 100 by an associate member batter
Asif Khan's fastest-ever 100 by an associate member batter
©Emirates Cricket

Despite a sensational Asif Khan century, Nepal rallied and managed to squeak a 9 run win (D/L method) over UAE today in the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup League 2.

Match Summary

ICC Men's Cricket World Cup League 2, Match 140

Nepal 269/6 (44 ov)

United Arab Emirates 310/6 (50 ov)

Result - Nepal won by 9 Runs (D/L Method)


After winning the toss UAE decided to bat, Waseem Muhammad (63) once again smashing the ball around, scoring 6 sixes along the way.

Vritiya Aravind (94) added support, narrowly missing out on a century, as UAE looked in great shape 175/5.

Asif Khan (101*) saw out the innings with an unbeaten century, scoring the 4th fasest ODI century in the process, hammering 4 fours and 11 sixes, to put this one well and truly out of reach.

UAE headed in at 310, it taking some very special from Nepal to get anything from this match.

And something special it was from Nepal, Kushal Bhurtel (50), Bhim Sharki (67), Aarif Sheikh (52) and Gulshan Kumar Jha (52*) combined to get them over the mark.

Weather played a part, as Nepal won by 9 runs (D/L method).

Match Stats

United Arab Emirates Fall of wickets: 1-19 (Aryan Lakra - 2.5 ov), 2-98 (Waseem Muhammad - 16.2 ov), 3-118 (CP Rizwan - 22.6 ov), 4-128 (Aayan Khan - 26.1 ov), 5-175 (Rohan Mustafa - 37.3 ov), 6-310 (Vritiya Aravind - 49.6 ov)

Nepal Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Aasif Sheikh - 0.3 ov), 2-6 (Kushal Malla - 1.3 ov), 3-37 (Rohit Kumar Paudel - 6.5 ov), 4-98 (Kushal Bhurtel - 16.3 ov), 5-181 (Bhim Sharki - 30.6 ov), 6-225 (Aarif Sheikh - 39.1 ov)

Playing XI

Nepal: Aasif Sheikh(WK), Rohit Kumar Paudel(C), Aarif Sheikh, Bhim Sharki, Dipendra Singh Airee, Kushal Bhurtel, Kushal Malla, Sandeep Lamichhane, Sompal Kami, Lalit Rajbanshi, Gulshan Kumar Jha,

United Arab Emirates: Vritiya Aravind(WK), Waseem Muhammad(C), CP Rizwan, Asif Khan, Ashwant Valthapa, Aayan Khan, Rohan Mustafa, Aryan Lakra, Zahoor Khan, Junaid Siddique, Hazrat Bilal

Match Details

Date:Thursday, March 16, 2023 03:45

Venue:Tribhuvan University International Cricket Ground, Kirtipur

TossUnited Arab Emirates elected to bat

Officiall Umpires: Buddhi Pradhan (Nepal) Raveendra Wimalasiri (Sri Lanka)

Match Referee: Manu Nayyar (India)

© Cricket World 2023