< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC Men's Cricket World Cup League 2 ODI: Kushal Malla and Dipendra Singh Airee combine for Nepal in chase

Sandeep Lamichhane in action for Nepal
Sandeep Lamichhane in action for Nepal
©Nepal Cricket

Kushal Malla and Dipendra Singh Airee combined for Nepal to chase down Scotland and win by 3 wickets today in the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup League 2 ODI.

Match Summary

Nepal vs Scotland, Match 123, ICC Men's Cricket World Cup League 2

Nepal 275/7 (47 ov)

Scotland 274/9 (50 ov)

Result - Nepal won by 3 wickets


After winning the toss Nepal chose to bowl, Kushal Malla (2/49) getting some early wickets to put Scotland on the back foot.

Sandeep Lamichhane (3/27) backed him up with economical bowling, leaving Scotland on 109/5 and needing something special.

Enter Michael Leask. Leask smashed a mammoth 9 sixes on his way to a crucial century for Scotland, giving them a fighting chance in this one.

Scotland headed in at 274 and somewhat optimistic, now handing over to their bowlers.

Nepal started slow in response, Chris Sole (3/72) taking control of the early game as Nepal's batsmen failed to click.

That was until Kushal Malla (81) and Dipendra Singh Airee (85*) joined the fray, smashing a combined 17 Fours as they lead Nepal to a 3 wicket win.

Match Stats

Scotland Fall of wickets: 1-34 (Richie Berrington - 7.4 ov), 2-51 (Christopher McBride - 11.1 ov), 3-58 (Matthew Cross - 14.5 ov), 4-63 (Tomas Mackintosh - 16.1 ov), 5-109 (Chris Greaves - 23.2 ov), 6-111 (Brandon McMullen - 24.2 ov), 7-192 (Jack Jarvis - 39.3 ov), 8-268 (Mark Watt - 49.2 ov), 9-274 (Chris Sole - 49.6 ov)

Nepal Fall of wickets: 1-31 (Kushal Bhurtel - 2.1 ov), 2-35 (Gyanendra Malla - 2.4 ov), 3-39 (Aasif Sheikh - 4.4 ov), 4-55 (Rohit Kumar Paudel - 8.1 ov), 5-77 (Sundeep Jora - 10.5 ov), 6-177 (Kushal Malla - 27.1 ov), 7-220 (Gulshan Kumar Jha - 37.4 ov)

Playing XI

Nepal - Rohit Kumar Paudel, Aasif Sheikh(WK), Gyanendra Malla, Sundeep Jora, Dipendra Singh Airee, Kushal Bhurtel, Kushal Malla, Sandeep Lamichhane, Gulshan Kumar Jha, Karan KC, Sompal Kami

Scotland - Matthew Cross(WK), Tomas Mackintosh, Richie Berrington, Chris Greaves, Brandon McMullen, Michael Leask, Jack Jarvis, Chris Sole, Mark Watt, Hamza Tahir, Christopher McBride

Match Details

Date - 2023-02-17 03:15:00

Venue - Tribhuvan University International Cricket Ground, Kirtipur

Toss - Nepal won the toss & elected to field

Umpires - Durga Subedi (Nepal), Rashid Riaz (Pakistan)

© Cricket World 2023