< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC Men's Cricket World Cup League 2: UAE win battle of the bowlers

United Arab Emirates vs Namibia, Match 127
United Arab Emirates vs Namibia, Match 127

It was a battle of the bowlers, as UAE narrowly made it over the line as wickets tumbled, beating Namibia by 1 wicket in today's ICC Men's Cricket World Cup League 2 match.

Match Summary

United Arab Emirates vs Namibia, Match 127

United Arab Emirates 95/9 (33 ov)

Namibia 91/10 (31.1 ov)

Result - United Arab Emirates won by 1 wickets


After losing the toss Namibia were put in to bat, there batsmen immediately under pressure as Zahoor Khan (3/19) took some early wickets.

It didn't really relent from there as wicket after wicket tumbled, Namibia being bowled all out for 91. 

It however wasn't a blow out, as Namibia's bowlers rose to the occasion and made it a contest; Tangeni Lungameni (4/20) leading the way.

Ruben Trumpelmann (3/27) kept the pressure on and UAE could never really get going, just trying to hold out and squeak a win.

It came down to the wire, UAE with only a wicket left as they just got over line to beat Namibia by 1 wicket.

Match Stats

Namibia Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Karl Birkenstock - 3.1 ov), 2-22 (Lohan Louwrens - 9.6 ov), 3-23 (Gerhard Erasmus - 10.5 ov), 4-24 (Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton - 11.6 ov), 5-29 (Michael van Lingen - 15.5 ov), 6-32 (Helao-Pikkie YaFrance - 16.5 ov), 7-42 (Bernard Scholtz - 20.2 ov), 8-63 (Zane Green - 24.4 ov), 9-69 (Tangeni Lungameni - 26.3 ov), 10-91 (Ruben Trumpelmann - 31.1 ov)

UAE Fall of wickets: 1-21 (Waseem Muhammad - 4.3 ov), 2-35 (Chirag Suri - 7.3 ov), 3-38 (Vritiya Aravind - 9.5 ov), 4-48 (Asif Khan - 13.5 ov), 5-53 (CP Rizwan - 15.2 ov), 6-55 (Rohan Mustafa - 16.5 ov), 7-65 (Karthik Meiyappan - 22.5 ov)

Playing XI

United Arab Emirates - Vritiya Aravind(WK), CP Rizwan, Waseem Muhammad, Chirag Suri, Asif Khan, Rohan Mustafa, Aayan Khan, Karthik Meiyappan, Junaid Siddique, Zahoor Khan, Hazrat Bilal

Namibia - Zane Green(WK), Lohan Louwrens, Gerhard Erasmus, Michael van Lingen, Helao-Pikkie YaFrance, Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton, Karl Birkenstock, Ben Shikongo, Tangeni Lungameni, Bernard Scholtz, Ruben Trumpelmann

Match Details

Date - 2023-02-23 06:00:00

Toss - United Arab Emirates won the toss & elected to field

© Cricket World 2023