< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC Men's Cricket World Cup League 2: Waseem century guides UAE to crushing win over PNG

Papua New Guinea vs United Arab Emirates
Papua New Guinea vs United Arab Emirates
©Emirates Cricket

A sensational century from Waseem Muhammad lead UAE to a 6 wicket win over PNG today in the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup League 2.

Match Summary

ICC Men's Cricket World Cup League 2, Match 139

Papua New Guinea 234/7 (50 ov)

United Arab Emirates 236/4 (38.4 ov)

Result - United Arab Emirates won by 6 wickets


Papua New Guinea won the toss and chose to bat, a rocky start as Hazrat Bilal (4/47) took some crucial wickets.

Assad Vala (67) steadied the ship with a half century, smashing 6 fours in the process.

Norman Vanua (49*) and Riley Hekure (33) made a late stand to get PNG to 234/7, a strong score to defend.

It would take something special in response, and special it was, as Waseem Muhammad stepped up with a century, smashing an unbelievable 12 sixes along the way.

This stand entirely took the game away from PNG, UAE winning by 6 wickets.

Match Stats

Papua New Guinea Fall of wickets: 1-10 (Hiri Hiri - 5.1 ov), 2-22 (Sese Bau - 9.5 ov), 3-63 (Kiplin Doriga - 18.6 ov), 4-116 (Charles Amini - 33.1 ov), 5-140 (Gaudi Toka - 39.1 ov), 6-161 (Assad Vala - 42.5 ov), 7-233 (Riley Hekure - 49.4 ov)

United Arab Emirates Fall of wickets: 1-24 (Aryan Lakra - 4.2 ov), 2-149 (Vritiya Aravind - 22.3 ov)

Playing XI

Papua New Guinea: , Sese Bau, Kiplin Doriga(WK), Hiri Hiri, Gaudi Toka, Assad Vala(C), Chad Soper, Charles Amini, Riley Hekure, John Kariko, Norman Vanua, Kabua Morea

United Arab Emirates: Vritiya Aravind(WK), Ashwant Valthapa, CP Rizwan, Waseem Muhammad(C), Asif Khan, Rohan Mustafa, Aayan Khan, Aryan Lakra, Zahoor Khan, Hazrat Bilal, Zawar Farid

Match Details

DateWednesday, March 15, 2023 03:45

Venue: Tribhuvan University International Cricket Ground, Kirtipur

Toss: Papua New Guinea elected to bat

Officials Umpires: Buddhi Pradhan (Nepal) Vinay Kumar (Nepal)

Match Referee: Manu Nayyar (India)

© Cricket World 2023