< >
CricketWorld.com, Latest Cricket News & Results

ICC T20 WC: Kohli, Pandya pull off a thrilling win over Pakistan

India pulled off a miracle four wicket win over Pakistan to start their campaign in the ICC Men's T20 World Cup in fine style at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Sunday night.

Top Tournament Stats -  ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022

Top Batters - Runs Scored

Most Sixes

Top Bowlers - Wickets Taken

Points Table

In front of a packed house, Pakistan after being asked to bat posted 159 for eight in their 20 overs and in their response India chased down the target off the last ball to finish on 160 for six.

Earlier, Pakistan was well served by a 76 run third wicket stand between Shan Masood and Iftikhar Ahmed. This stand lifted Pakistan after they lost their openers cheaply. Then after Ahmed got out for 51 off 34 balls with two boundaries and four sixes, there was a collapse. Pakistan slipped to 115 for six and then 120 for seven. Then there was a 31 run eighth wicket stand between Masood (52 n.o.: 42b, 5x4) and Shaheen Afridi. Pakistan finished on 159 for eight in their 20 overs. For India, Arshdeep Singh (3-32) and Hardik Pandya (3-30) were the best bowlers.

In their response, India lost their openers cheaply. In fact in the first 10 overs, India hit just two boundaries in the innings. They were down to 26 for three and then 31 for four. When all appeared lost, Virat Kohli teamed up with Hardik Pandya. Kohli and Pandya put on 113 runs for the fifth wicket. With nearly 48 runs needed off 18 balls, Kohli and Pandya changed gears. In the last over India needed 16 runs. An eventful last over followed as Mohammed Nawaz bowled a waist high full toss which went for a six which was called a no-ball, then followed it up with a wide and then in the end India nailed the chase off the last ball. Kohli remained unbeaten on 82 off 53 balld with six boundaries and four sixes. For Pakistan the successful bowlers were Haris Rauf (2-36) and Mohammad Nawaz (2-42).

Match Summary
Pakistan: 159-8 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Babar Azam-1.1 ov), 2-15 (Mohammad Rizwan-3.6 ov), 3-91 (Iftikhar Ahmed-12.2 ov), 4-96 (Shadab Khan-13.2 ov), 5-98 (Haider Ali-13.6 ov), 6-115 (Mohammad Nawaz-15.5 ov), 7-120 (Asif Ali-16.4 ov), 8-151 (Shaheen Shah Afridi-19.2 ov)

India: 160-6 (20)
Fall of wickets: 1-7 (KL Rahul-1.5 ov), 2-10 (Rohit Sharma-3.2 ov), 3-26 (Suryakumar Yadav-5.3 ov), 4-31 (Axar Patel-6.1 ov), 5-144 (Hardik Pandya-19.1 ov), 6-158 (Dinesh Karthik-19.5 ov)   



Playing XIs

India: Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik PandyaDinesh Karthik (WK), Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh

Pakistan: Babar Azam (C), Mohammad Rizwan (WK), Shan Masood, Shadab Khan, Haider Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Asif Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf, Shaheen Afridi

Match Details
Toss: India, elected to field
Venue: Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
Start time: 0700 hrs GMT
Match officials: Marais Erasmus, Rod Tucker (On-field Umpires); Richard Kettleborough (TV Umpire); Joel Wilson (Reserve Umpire); Ranjan Madugalle (Match-referee

© Cricket World 2022